Skip to main content

Mission

The Old Westbury Library Special Collections & Archives supports the mission and guiding principles of SUNY Old Westbury to foster academic excellence and stimulate a passion and commitment for learning by creating and disseminating knowledge, advancing student learning, and supporting research and teaching.

 

The Library Special Collections & Archives selectively acquire and preserve collections that document Old Westbury College including primary and secondary source materials dating from the founding of the college through the present. In accordance with archival principles and standards, we preserve, organize, and create access to the materials collected.

 

The Special Collections & Archives department offers reference services to the SUNY Old Westbury community, including administrators, faculty, staff, students, and alumni, as well as the general public.

Purpose

The purpose of this document is to outline the criteria used by the Special Collections & Archives for the selection, retention, preservation and promotion of material in the college’s archives and special collections. The document will be used as a tool to aid decision making in order to meet the archive’s responsibilities to the University and to the learning and research community at large. The strategy outlining what will be retained and preserved will improve the archive’s ability to further develop its collections.

 

The Special Collections & Archives will:

  1. Acquire and preserve records of enduring value produced by University offices, faculty, students and alumni. Including Graduate student theses and faculty publications.
  2. Arrange and describe those records and make them accessible in accordance with established archival standards
  3. Serve as an information resource center to assist the University community with research projects.
  4. Encourage and assist the University community to recognize and make use of its institutional heritage via exhibits, presentations, and published resources.

OWLibrarian Twitter feed

SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
(516) 876-3150