SUNY Old Westbury Digital Repositories
There are two digital repositories that provide access to a range of open access content including scholarly and creative works as well as campus archives and special collections. Both repositories are centrally managed by SUNY and built on the DSpace platform by Atmire.
SUNY Digital Repository (SDR) is an online digital repository that stores, indexes, and provides long term access to a broad range of content with a strong focus on local campus archival and special collections.
SUNY Open Access Repository (SOAR) is an online digital repository that stores, indexes, and makes available scholarly and creative works of SUNY faculty, students, and staff across SUNY campuses. SOAR integrates with PubMed and CrossRef for importing metadata and provides ORCID integration for authors, with enhanced statistics.
SUNY Old Westbury Digital Repository is an institutional repository and publication platform designed to collect, preserve, and make accessible the special collections and university archives of SUNY Old Westbury.
SUNY Old Westbury Open Access Repository is an institutional repository and publication platform designed to collect, preserve, and make accessible the scholarly output of Old Westbury faculty, students, and staff.
Examples of qualified content include:
A wide range of file formats is accepted (including text files, datasets, audio files, and video files) and there is no formal limit to size of material. The Library will work with authors to ensure appropriate file types are used.
Examples of possible format types:
The author must own the copyright for all works submitted, or have written permission from the copyright owner to have the material available on the SUNY Old Westbury Digital Repository
Consider using the Creative Commons Licenses to clarify how the work that will be submitted can be used.
A Creative Commons (CC) license is one of several public copyright licenses that enable the free distribution of an otherwise copyrighted work. A CC license is used when an author wants to give people the right to share, use, and build upon a work that they have created.
* You do not need to grant a creative commons license, it is optional.
(Creators choose a set of conditions they wish to apply to their work.)
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. All CC licenses require that others who use your work in any way must give you credit the way you request, but not in a way that suggests you endorse them or their use. If they want to use your work without giving you credit or for endorsement purposes, they must get your permission first. For license details, see https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/
Creative Commons Attribution Share Alike 4.0 license. This license lets others copy, distribute, display, perform, and modify your work, as long as they distribute any modified work on the same terms. If they want to distribute modified works under other terms, they must get your permission first. For license details, see https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/
Creative Commons Attribution Noncommercial 4.0 license. This license lets others copy, distribute, display, perform, and (unless you have chosen NoDerivatives) modify and use your work for any purpose other than commercially unless they get your permission first. For license details, see https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/
Creative Commons No Derivatives 4.0 license.This license lets others copy, distribute, display and perform only original copies of your work. If they want to modify your work, they must get your permission first. For license details, see https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/
Submitting your work is easy. Fill out the online form on this page or at https://oldwestbury.libwizard.com/f/digitaloldwestbury
After your submission has been published, you will receive an link to your publication. All submissions become searchable through Google Scholar within 48 hours after upload to repository. Any questions should be directed to the digital librarian, Christa DeVirgilio at email@example.com or (516) 876-3472.
By submitting your work you accept the following license agreement.
I (the author/s) hold the copyright to this document and grant permission for posting it in SUNY Old Westbury’s Institutional Repository, or have the approval of the copyright holder to do so, and agree that it may be made available to the public in any format in perpetuity. I warrant that the posting of the work does not infringe any copyright, nor violate any proprietary rights, nor contain any libelous matter, nor invade the privacy of any person or their party.
Unless you specify a Creative Commons license for your submission, no creative commons license will be applied.
(See creativecommons.org , for more information about applying a creative commons license.)
Digital Repository at SUNY Old Westbury
Use this form if you want your work to be included on the SUNY Old Westbury Digital Repository.
Withdrawals & Corrections
The SUNY Old Westbury Digital Repository is designed to provide long-term access to deposited material. Once deposited, content should not be modified. If there is an error in the metadata description of your work, contact the digital librarian for correction. If the depositor wishes to update an existing item, replacing it with a new version, they must contact the repository administrator to explain why a new version should be preserved. To create transparency in the archive, replaced files will be accompanied by a note in the content description (“Content replaced at author’s request on [date]”).
Under rare circumstances, it may be necessary to remove material from the Repository. A request for removal should be directed to the digital librarian and include the reasons for withdrawal