Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
New
Crackle is a free streaming service that offers on-demand movies and TV series. Its library consists of original content as well as programming acquired from other companies.
New
Watch the best documentaries from around the world for free. Over 21000 of the latest top documentaries on topics including biography, business & economics, crime, history, human rights, psychology, politics, technology and much more. New content is added daily.
Trial
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.

NOTE: When logging in, use the Off-Campus/Remote Access module and enter SUNY Old Westbury to open the database.
Trial
For reference, IGI Global publications have been contributed by over 100,000+ industry-leading researchers and professionals from leading institutions, including Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Harvard University, Stanford University, University of Texas at Austin, Clemson University, Princeton University, University of Central Florida, University of South Florida, University of Toronto, University of British Columbia, University of Oxford, among many others. IGI Global publishes the industry’s most timely and innovative peer-reviewed research across 350+ topics in 11 core subject areas, including Business & Management; Computer Science & IT; Education; Environment & Agriculture; Government & Law; Library & Information Science; Media & Communications; Medicine & Healthcare; Science & Engineering; Security & Forensics; Social Sciences & Humanities.
New
The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 2.8 million records and constantly updated by scholars in the field, the bibliography is used by academics and teachers around the world to find and share their work. Students at all levels rely on the bibliography to lead them to the journals, books, Web sites, and other publications they need to succeed in their research projects.
New
Popcornflix offers a huge selection of free full length movies, trailers, clips, TV series. Genres included are Action, Comedy, Family, Horror, Drama, Thriller, Romance, Westerns, Sci Fi, Documentaries and more. Watch for new uploads on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.
New
The Roku Channel is your home for free and premium TV, anywhere you go. Stream hundreds of hit movies, popular shows, 24/7 live news, and more for free. Plus, add Premium Subscriptions like SHOWTIME®, STARZ and dozens more.
New
Watch free movies and TV shows online in HD on any device. Tubi is an American streaming service based in San Francisco, California, United States, that launched in 2014. It is a free, ad-supported service, with advertisements shown during unskippable commercial breaks during programming. Register for a free account to save your streams.
New
Vudu is mostly known as a video rental service, but it also has more than 3,000 movies and 250 TV shows available to stream for free with ads. Where most free streaming sites inflate their numbers with B-movie filler, Vudu’s free titles are surprisingly well-known.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
(516) 876-3150