Chemistry is at the cutting ege of our lives. How does a silicon chip work? How can we harness natural products to combat human disease? And is it possible to create artificial muscles? Providing answers to these questions and many more, "50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know" is an engaging guide to the world of chemistry. From the molecules that kick-started life itself to nanotechnology, chemistry offers some fascinating insights into our origins, as well as continuing to revolutionize life as we know it. In 50 short instalments, this accessible book discusses everything from the arguments of the key thinkers to the latest research methods, using timelines to place each theory in context - telling you all you need to know about the most important ideas in chemistry, past and present. Contents include: Thermodynamics, Catalysts, Fermentation, Green Chemistry, Separation, Chrystallography, Microfabrication, Computational Chemistry, Chemistry Occurring in Nature, Manmade Solutions: Beer, Plastic, Artificial Muscles and Hydrogen Future.

This is the perfect complement to "Chemical Bonding - Across the Periodic Table" by the same editors, who are two of the top scientists working on this topic, each with extensive experience and important connections within the community. The resulting book is a unique overview of the different approaches used for describing a chemical bond, including molecular-orbital based, valence-bond based, ELF, AIM and density-functional based methods. It takes into account the many developments that have taken place in the field over the past few decades due to the rapid advances in quantum chemical models and faster computers.

This is a reference tool, designed to guide the reader through all the aspects of a discipline that is core science and providing a knowledge base for a large number of other disciplines. Showing the myriad of ways in which chemistry plays a role (both seen and unseen) in our daily lives, this work also makes the foundations of chemistry accessible for the lay reader. are also entries providing scientific, commercial and career information. This work not only details the basic underlying scientific principles of the field, but also relates the subject matter to the reader through examples.

Chemistry for the Life Sciences has been produced specifically to help first-year life science undergraduates with the chemical background that they need to support the study of their main subject. Clear and concise, it focuses on the particular aspects of chemistry that underpin biochemical and biomedical studies. The material is presented as a sequence of short topics with numerical or conceptual ideas supported by worked examples and questions within the text. The approach, as well as the examples used, are based firmly within a biological context. Students with a limited background in chemistry will benefit particularly from this volume.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product THE LANGUAGE OF CHEMISTRY AT YOUR FINGERTIPS Derived from the world-renowned McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, this vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of chemistry or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts. Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students, The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry, Second Edition: * Has been extensively revised, with 9,000 entries that fully define the language of chemistry * Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations * Provides pronunciations for all terms * Covers such topics as analytical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, polymer chemistry, and spectroscopy, as well as terms in related areas such as biotechnology and biochemistry * Includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information * Is based on the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms - for more than a quarter-of-a-century THE standard international reference Carefully reviewed for clarity, completeness, and accuracy, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry, Second Edition, offers a standard of excellence unmatched by any similar publication.

Praise for the previous edition: ...a good encyclopedia for high-school and public libraries.--Booklist[This] comprehensive [resource] cover[s] important discoveries and definitions of basic terms and concepts, and offer[s] short biographies of leading scientists.--School Library Journal...[a] top pick for science library holdings...a fine reference to both terminology and basic concepts...--Midwest Book ReviewThe comprehensive Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide high school and early college students with the most complete information available. Addressing a subject whose understanding is crucial to all mature science students, Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition presents an engaging, informative approach to learning.Additional material directs students to further pursue their studies, including links to informative websites and a bibliography. Students and professionals alike will benefit from the extensive coverage and easy-to-use format of this resource.Entries include:Atomic mass unit (amu)Binary fissionBoyle's lawCheletropic reactionEnzyme inductionFahrenheit, Daniel GabrielG-factorHeisenberg Uncertainty PrincipleKrebs cycleNuclear binding energyPheromonePhotosynthesisPolymerizationProton transfer reactionRate of reactionRadiocarbon datingRadonSupercooled liquidsThermonuclear energy.

A concise, robust introduction to the various topics covered bythe discipline of forensic chemistry The Forensic Chemistry Handbook focuses on topics in eachof the major chemistry-related areas of forensic science. Withchapter authors that span the forensic chemistry field, this bookexposes readers to the state of the art on subjects such asserology (including blood, semen, and saliva), DNA/molecularbiology, explosives and ballistics, toxicology, pharmacology,instrumental analysis, arson investigation, and various other typesof chemical residue analysis. In addition, the ForensicChemistry Handbook: Covers forensic chemistry in a clear, concise, and authoritativeway Brings together in one volume the key topics in forensics wherechemistry plays an important role, such as blood analysis, druganalysis, urine analysis, and DNA analysis Explains how to use analytical instruments to analyze crimescene evidence Contains numerous charts, illustrations, graphs, and tables togive quick access to pertinent information Media focus on high-profile trials like those of Scott Petersonor Kobe Bryant have peaked a growing interest in the fascinatingsubject of forensic chemistry. For those readers who want tounderstand the mechanisms of reactions used in laboratories topiece together crime scenes?and to fully grasp the chemistrybehind it?this book is a must-have.

The majority of chapters in this book were written by scientists of N. M. Emanuel Institute of Biochemical Physics (IBChPh) of Russian Academy of Sciences. Prof. N. M. Emanuel was one of the founders of biochemical physics -- a part of natural science. This science borders on the line of physics, chemistry and biology with integration of mathematics and with practical applications in medicine and agriculture. The book is devoted to these topics. The time has come to show the scientific community world-wide what Russian scientists have recently done in this area. Six chapters of this volume have information about hydrogels in endovascular embolisation. Special attention devoted to synthesis and properties of spherical particles (SP) of hydrogels and their medico-biological properties, clinical use of SP, radiopaque SP and their preparation and properties, morphological foundation of hydrogels use for vascular occlusion, antitumor agents methotrexate-containing poly(HEMA)-hydrogels and poly(HEMA) with intensified haemostatic activity as a new embolic materials. The volume has very important information about pharmacological premises of the creation of new antitumor preparations of the class of nitrosoalkylurea and investigation of new mechanism of E.coli resistance to alkylation damages induced by NO-donation agent -- a "Quasi-adaptive response". It also includes information about biological activity of different enzymes in process of oxidation in vivo and in vitro, investigation of the properties of lipids in plants and in animals. Some chapters deal with pharmacological criterions for new antitumor drugs, using of Tocopherols as bioantioxidants in vitro and in vivo, creation of new equipment for chemical engineering, investigation of enzyme reactions, thermodegradation and combustion of polymers and polymer composites, formation of char during of combustion, molecular design and reactivity of some chemical compounds, problems of pethrochemistry, preparation and modification of microparticles, investigation of antioxidants in food products, chemistry of rubber and formation of carbon nanostructures. Several chapters include very important information about application of electron spin resonance techniques for investigation of chemical and biochemical reactions.

The emerging field of green analytical chemistry is concerned with the development of analytical procedures that minimize consumption of hazardous reagents and solvents, and maximize safety for operators and the environment.  In recent years there have been significant developments in methodological and technological tools to prevent and reduce the deleterious effects of analytical activities; key strategies include recycling, replacement, reduction and detoxification of reagents and solvents. The Handbook of Green Analytical Chemistry provides a comprehensive overview of the present state and recent developments in green chemical analysis. A series of detailed chapters, written by international specialists in the field, discuss the fundamental principles of green analytical chemistry and present a catalogue of tools for developing environmentally friendly analytical techniques. Topics covered include: Concepts: Fundamental principles, education, laboratory experiments and publication in green analytical chemistry. The Analytical Process: Green sampling techniques and sample preparation, direct analysis of samples, green methods for capillary electrophoresis, chromatography, atomic spectroscopy, solid phase molecular spectroscopy, derivative molecular spectroscopy and electroanalytical methods. Strategies: Energy saving, automation, miniaturization and photocatalytic treatment of laboratory wastes. Fields of Application: Green bioanalytical chemistry, biodiagnostics, environmental analysis and industrial analysis. This advanced handbook is a practical resource for experienced analytical chemists who are interested in implementing green approaches in their work.

1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles

The field of chemical engineering is undergoing a global "renaissance," with new processes, equipment, and sources changing literally every day.  It is a dynamic, important area of study and the basis for some of the most lucrative and integral fields of science.  Introduction to Chemical Engineering offers a comprehensive overview of the concept, principles and applications of chemical engineering. It explains the distinct chemical engineering knowledge which gave rise to a general-purpose technology and broadest engineering field. The book serves as a conduit between college education and the real-world chemical engineering practice. It answers many questions students and young engineers often ask which include: How is what I studied in the classroom being applied in the industrial setting? What steps do I need to take to become a professional chemical engineer? What are the career diversities in chemical engineering and the engineering knowledge required? How is chemical engineering design done in real-world? What are the chemical engineering computer tools and their applications? What are the prospects, present and future challenges of chemical engineering? And so on. It also provides the information new chemical engineering hires would need to excel and cross the critical novice engineer stage of their career. It is expected that this book will enhance students understanding and performance in the field and the development of the profession worldwide. Whether a new-hire engineer or a veteran in the field, this is a must--have volume for any chemical engineer's library.

Comprises concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology. Coverage includes biochemical and environmental toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, risk assessment and risk management as well as those aspects of analytical chemistry and molecular biology that are of importance in toxicology. The most important toxic chemicals are covered, in most cases with structures and CAS numbers.

Unique new approaches for making chemistry accessible to diverse students Students' interest and achievement in academics improve dramatically when they make connections between what they are learning and the potential uses of that knowledge in the workplace and/or in the world at large. Making Chemistry Relevant presents a unique collection of strategies that have been used successfully in chemistry classrooms to create a learner-sensitive environment that enhances academic achievement and social competence of students. Rejecting rote memorization, the book proposes a cognitive constructivist philosophy that casts the teacher as a facilitator helping students to construct solutions to problems. Written by chemistry professors and research groups from a wide variety of colleges and universities, the book offers a number of creative ways to make chemistry relevant to the student, including: Teaching science in the context of major life issues and STEM professions Relating chemistry to current events such as global warming, pollution, and terrorism Integrating science research into the undergraduate laboratory curriculum Enriching the learning experience for students with a variety of learning styles as well as accommodating the visually challenged students Using media, hypermedia, games, and puzzles in the teaching of chemistry Both novice and experienced faculty alike will find valuable ideas ready to be applied and adapted to enhance the learning experience of all their students.

Written by the author of the award-winning "Chemische Kabinettst#65533;cke" this book demonstrates over 80 enjoyable, impressive and sometimes almost unbelievable chemical experiments for the classroom, lecture hall or home. All the experiments are explained in full, and have been tested several times such that their successful reproduction is guaranteed. Grouped into several cycles -- water, the color blue, the color red, soles, and self-organization -- the topics are perfect for experimental lectures or school projects. Detailed illustrations and the lively writing style make this book equally attractive to readers interested in chemistry, even if they are unable to perform the experiments.