Historical & Primary Source Databases - HI4062 - Making History

Primo Discovery Search (Everything)

JSTOR Primary Sources

JSTOR Primary Sources
Primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.

History Databases

America: History & Life
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? To find scholarly articles about United States and Canada history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
- What's included? Full text and indexing to over 1,700 journals, books and media reviews.
Black Thought and Culture
- Why search here? Black Thought and Culture presents the ideas of over 1,000 authors of an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
- What's included? Contains numerous multimedia sources on the published works of prominent Black leaders from the past 250 years.
Digital History
- Why search here? An open educational resource on history of the Americas from Gilder Lehrman Collection.
- What's included? Many primary sources, essays, multmedia exhibitions, classroom handouts, chronologies, glossaries, an audio archive including speeches and book talks by historians, and a visual archive with hundreds of historical maps and images.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
- Why search here? A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
- What's included? Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) Archives
- Why search here? The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions. Began in 1861 with currently more than 480 individual volumes.
- What's included? Contains documents from Presidential libraries and numerous foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in implementing U.S. foreign policy.
Historical Abstracts
- Why search here? Historical coverage of the world, except North America, from 1450 to the present.
- What's included? Coverage includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
- Why search here? Core texts and images on indigenous culture in American history.
- What's included? Contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
- Why search here? This database brings together a multitude of essential legal materials, commentary, pamphlets and books on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.
- What's included? Every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. ?
Women and Social Movements in the United States
- Why search here? Useful for students and scholars of American Studies and women in history in U.S. social movements between 1600 and 2000.
- What's included? WASM brings together archive documents, books, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies that document women's reform activities.

Historical Periodical Databases

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Why search here? Find U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- What's included? Historic newspaper articles written in Black newspapers from across the United States.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
- Why search here? Features wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans that will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.
- What's included? Primary-source publications from1825-1995 including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other sources
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? A comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 in a single search.
- What's included? Full text content from many North American periodicals in subjects including: culture, the arts and literature, music, religion, women's studies, history, science, and more.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865
- Why search here? Searchable, full-text articles from Harper's Weekly (Civil War Era, 1857-1865)
- What's included? Full text archive of Harper's Weekly publication.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Complete version of the New York Times, view entire pages as well as specific articles from as far back as the first issue.
- What's included? Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.
NYS Historical Newspapers
- Why search here? Free online access to a wide range of newspapers from across the state that reflect New York's unique history.
- What's included? This collection is growing everyday. Local papers from around Long Island, Brooklyn, Bronx and Queens are included.

Letters, Diaries & Oral Histories

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- Why search here? IMLD provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada.
- What's included? Materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, with heavy focus on the period from 1920 to 1980. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews are indexed and searchable.

SUNY Old Westbury Library
223 Store Hill Rd
Campus Center
Old Westbury, NY 11568
(516) 876-3150

Today's Hours

Library	8:30am – 5:00pm
Reference	24 Hours