The Biotechnology Revolution provides an in-depth look at the history, methodologies, processes, applications, and future growth potential of several sectors of the biotech industry.

The explosion of the field of genetics over the last decade, with the new technologies that have stimulated research, suggests that a new sort of reference work is needed to keep pace with such a fast-moving and interdisciplinary field.  Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics, Second Edition, Seven Volume Set, builds on the foundation of the first edition by addressing many of the key subfields of genetics that were just in their infancy when the first edition was published. The currency and accessibility of this foundational content will be unrivalled, making this work useful for scientists and non-scientists alike.  Featuring relatively short entries on genetics topics written by experts in that topic, Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics, Second Edition, Seven Volume Set provides an effective way to quickly learn about any aspect of genetics, from Abortive Transduction to Zygotes. Adding to its utility, the work provides short entries that briefly define key terms, and a guide to additional reading and relevant websites for further study. Many of the entries include figures to explain difficult concepts. Key terms in related areas such as biochemistry, cell, and molecular biology are also included, and there are entries that describe historical figures in genetics, providing insights into their careers and discoveries.

The Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (DHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, DHBE also includes information on over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, geological and oxygen isotope chronologies, illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles and an illustration of current hominid phylogeny, making this a must-have volume for anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution. DHBE is especially complete in its inventory of archaeological sites and the best-known hominid specimens excavated from them, but also includes up-to-date information on terms such as in silico, and those relating to the rapidly developing fields of human genomics.

Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.

A newly revised edition of the standard reference for the field today--updated with new terms, major discoveries, significant scientists, and illustrations Developmental biology is the study of the mechanisms of development, differentiation, and growth in animals and plants at the molecular, cellular, and genetic levels. The discipline has gained prominence in part due to new interdisciplinary approaches and advances in technology, which have led to the rapid emergence of new concepts and words. The Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology, Second Edition is the first comprehensive reference focused on the field's terms, research, history, and people. This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures, and topics range from fundamental terminology, germ layers, and induction to RNAi, evo-devo, stem cell differentiation, and more. Readers will find such features of embryology and developmental biology as: Vertebrates Invertebrates Plants Developmental genetics Evolutionary developmental biology Molecular developmental biology Medical embryology The author's premium on accessibility allows readers at all levels to enhance their vocabulary in their field and understand terminology beyond their specific focus. Researchers and students in developmental biology, cell biology, developmental genetics, and embryology will find the dictionary to be a vital resource.

This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. The Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised: Reflects the latest developments in the field Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles Provides extensive cross-referencing between topics Includes numerous references from scientific journals and other relevant sources With its wide-ranging description of different areas of microbiology, the Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology, Third Edition, Revised is an indispensable reference for every researcher, lecturer and student.

Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Fourth Edition gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth. This range attracts a growing number of cross-disciplinary studies, which the encyclopedia makes available to readers from diverse educational backgrounds. The new edition builds on the solid foundation established in earlier versions, adding new material that reflects recent advances in the field. New focus areas include Animal and Plant Microbiomes' and 'Global Impact of Microbes . The thematic organization of the work allows users to focus on specific areas, e.g., for didactical purposes, while also browsing for topics in different areas. Offers an up-to-date and authoritative resource that covers the entire field of microbiology, from basic principles, to applied technologiesProvides an organic overview that is useful to academic teachers and scientists from different backgroundsIncludes chapters that are enriched with figures and graphs, and that can be easily consulted in isolation to find fundamental definitions and concepts

""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--

New title! A concise guide to the essential language of medicine. More than 35,000 entries. Pronunciations provided for all entries. Covers brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.

This is a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of genetics and genomics research, its applications, and complex ethical, legal and social issues that arise from it. The reference includes approximately 1000 original, peer-reviewed articles organized alphabetically and commissioned around the following core subject areas: structural genomics; functional genomics; proteomics; evolution and comparative genomics; genome mapping; gene mapping and sequencing; chromosome structure and function; genes and disease; mathematical genetics; bioinformatics; behavioural and pscyhiatric genetics; biographies; and ethical, legal and social issues.

Worried about your maternal effect or biological clock? Need to know a rhizoid from a rhizome? Think you're going to fail your zoology or botany exam? The Penguin Dictionary of Biology is your saviour, defining some 6000 terms relating to this rich, complex and constantly expanding subject - from amino acids, bacteria and the cell cycle to X-ray diffraction, Y chromosome and zygotes. Long established as the definitive single-volume source, this dictionary has sold over 200,000 copies and is extensively updated for its eleventh edition.

Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 byChoice A] set of almost 70 essays, all well informed and many with attitude. Harold Shapiro, PhD Professor Emeritus and Professor of Economics and Public Affairs Princeton University, Former Chair, National Bioethics Advisory Board This most noteworthy and authoritative collection of 67 essays...represents 'the Penn way of doing bioethics' ....The Penn Center is widely known for multidisciplinary scholarship that emphasizes empirical inquiry on bioethical issues coupled with practical application(s)....The book provides excellent coverage of...both classical topics (e.g., informed consent, infertility, eugenics) and emerging issues (e.g., cloning, nonprofessional caregiving, privacy of thought in the age of brain imaging). The contributors, including the three editors, are either well-established or emerging scholars. Each essay offers historical background, an overview of relevant issues, a conclusion, and a list of references....Summing Up: Highly recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries This well-written book addresses a wide-ranging assortment of traditional bioethics issues that persist in the field as well as contemporary bioethics concerns that have evolved with new technologies and medical advances. This is a great resource for scholars in bioethics as well as various other relevant disciplines concerned with bioethical issues." Score: 96, 4 stars--Doody's Medical Reviews The Center for Bioethics at the University of Pennsylvania is the internationally recognized leader in bioethical education and research. Its interdisciplinary faculty is drawn from the fields of medicine, law, nursing, education, philosophy, psychology, and religious studies. Arthur L. Caplan, the Center's founding director, is recognized as one of the most influential experts in bioethics. He has authored numerous books and articles, and served as the Chair of the Advisory Committee to the United Nations on human cloning. The Penn Center's leading fellows, Autumn Fiester and Vardit Ravitsky, have combined their expertise with Dr. Caplan and over 80 other contributors to create The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics--the foremost authority on both traditional and cutting-edge bioethical issues. The Penn Guide navigates uncharted ethical terrains, undoubtedly shaping both academic and public discourses on the challenging controversies generated by new technologies, theories, and medical advances. This volume represents the Penn Center's distinct, pioneering approach to bioethics, one that emphasizes empirical treatment of bioethical issues, and the integration of bioethical scholarship with practical application. Learn what the Penn Center has to say about: Neuroethics and brain imaging: Is my mind mine? Choosing future people: reproductive technologies and identity Eugenics and survival of the fittest in the modern world Bioethics and national security Vaccination, abortion, nanotechnology, organ transplantation, end-of-life issues, and more The Penn Guide will be the definitive text for policy makers, health practitioners, researchers, and students. This book will also inform the general public, patients, and family members as they seek answers to the bioethical issues of the day."