There is a strong movement today in management to encourage management practices based on research evidence. In the first volume of this handbook, I asked experts in 39 areas of management to identify a central principle that summarized and integrated the core findings from their specialty area and then to explain this principle and give real business examples of the principle in action. I asked them to write in non-technical terms, e.g., without a lot of statistics, and almost all did so. The previous handbook proved to be quite popular, so I was asked to edit a second edition. This new edition has been expanded to 33 topics, and there are some new authors for the previously included topics. The new edition also includes: updated case examples, updated references and practical exercises at the end of each chapter. It also includes a preface on evidence-based management. The principles for the first edition were intended to be relatively timeless, so it is no surprise that most of the principles are the same (though some chapter titles include more than one principle). This book could serve as a textbook in advanced undergraduate and in MBA courses. It could also be of use to practicing managers and not just those in Human Resource departments. Every practicing manager may not want to read the whole book, but I am willing to guarantee that every one will find at least one or more chapters that will be practically useful. In this time of economic crisis, the need for effective management practices is more acute than ever.
Capitalize on the principles of psychology to develop more effective leadership! Whether you work in a smokestack industry, the service sector, or a high-tech information-based business, the basic principles of industrial/organizational psychology you will find in The Handbook of Organizational Performance can help you obtain better performance from your employees. This comprehensive volume contains all the information you need to understand on-the-job behavior and effectively manage your employees. The Handbook of Organizational Performance gives you the tools and techniques you need to reward positive employee behaviors and correct undesirable ones before they become destructive habits. Using the principles of industrial/organizational psychology, you will learn how to train employees, how to determine criteria for performance appraisals, and how to establish leadership in the workplace. The Handbook of Organizational Performance is a comprehensive guide to all areas of management, including: designing more effective training managing occupational stress using "pay-for-performance" plans reducing job-related injury and illness taking an active role in occupational safety encouraging business ethics With its clear structure and helpful charts, tables, and figures, The Handbook of Organizational Performance is an indispensable management tool and an essential text for students of business.
Effective work practices and good employee relations are a real necessity of nowadays organizations, as they can help to reduce absenteeism, turnover, organizational costs, conducting to high levels of commitment, effectiveness, performance as well as productivity. Addressing these questions, this book focuses on the implications of changes in productivity and organizational management, exploring models, tools and processes.
This eBook presents two case studies of two organizations operating in Lebanon. The author has examined the organizational management practices of these two companies and then proposed solutions for each identified problem. The case studies represent an e
Using Library Catalog
Try using search terms such as "leadership" and "management". Other terms such as "human resources" can be useful. If you have a specific search topic for an assignment such as "operations management", that can be the start of a good search as well.
Use OR between your search terms to broaden the search to include any of the terms.
Use AND between your search terms to narrow the search to include all the terms.
Find full text within the databases in html or pdf format.