Foundations of Health Care Management Leaders and managers throughout the health care system are facing ever more challenging changes in the way care is delivered, paid for, and evaluated. Foundations of Health Care Management: Principles and Methods offers an innovative, concise, reader-friendly introduction to health care management and administration. It addresses the need for new skills in managers of health care facilities and for those planning to enter health care management positions. The book covers such critical topics as leadership training, change management, conflict management techniques, culture building, quality improvement, and communications skills, as well as collaboration in the improvement of population health. Foundations of Health Care Management also concentrates on innovations and describes steps in the transition to more decentralized and creative approaches to the management of health care facilities. The book covers physician management from the physician's viewpoint, a valuable perspective for health care managers. The book serves important dual purposes for faculty and students by providing both insights into the health care field as well as foundational content on essential management and leadership competencies. A full set of support materials is available for instructors at the book's companion Web site.

BESTSELLING GUIDE, UPDATED WITH A NEW INFORMATION FOR TODAY'S HEALTH CARE ENVIRONMENT Health Care Information Systems is the newest version of the acclaimed text that offers the fundamental knowledge and tools needed to manage information and information resources effectively within a wide variety of health care organizations. It reviews the major environmental forces that shape the national health information landscape and offers guidance on the implementation, evaluation, and management of health care information systems. It also reviews relevant laws, regulations, and standards and explores the most pressing issues pertinent to senior level managers. It covers: Proven strategies for successfully acquiring and implementing health information systems. Efficient methods for assessing the value of a system. Changes in payment reform initiatives. New information on the role of information systems in managing in population health. A wealth of updated case studies of organizations experiencing management-related system challenges.

Student Resources (click here for access) Instructor Resources: This book's Instructor Resources include PowerPoint slides, an updated test bank, teaching notes for the end-of-chapter exercises, Excel files and cases for selected chapters, and new case studies, for most chapters, with accompanying teaching notes. The new case studies are 1-3 pages each and are suitable for one class session or an online learning module. The answers to many of the dilemmas faced by the US healthcare system, such as increasing costs, inadequate access, and uneven quality, lie in organizational operations - the nuts and bolts of healthcare delivery. Leading healthcare organizations have begun to employ the programs, techniques, and tools of operations improvement that industries outside of healthcare have successfully used for decades. Healthcare Operations Management aims to help healthcare management students and working professionals find ways to improve the delivery of healthcare, with its complex web of patients, providers, reimbursement systems, physician relations, workforce challenges, and intensive government regulation. Taking an integrated approach, the book puts the tools and techniques of operations improvement into the context of healthcare so that readers learn how to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of tomorrow's healthcare system. Thoroughly revised and updated, this edition includes: A new chapter on big data and analytics for fact-based decision making More Excel examples to demonstrate the use of this prime analytics tool New case studies and exercises Expanded information on innovation and new approaches to care delivery With its plentiful examples, guidelines to software tools, and emphasis on contemporary healthcare management issues, this book provides current and future healthcare professionals alike with a broad foundation for implementing operational improvements in their organizations.

This book, based on case studies in the healthcare sector, reveals a working strategy that explores a well-kept secret of top management: that a more balanced gender distribution on the boards of healthcare organizations results in an improvement of the organization's overall performance. Organizational success for healthcare institutions depends in part on insuring that an organization's management team possesses and reflects key characteristics that can predict that success. By further linking these characteristics to gender, the research suggests that it is reasonable to assume that an increased if not dominant presence of females on boards will lead to improved performance. In this evolving world environment of an aging population coupled with funding constraints that are applied to healthcare organizations based on performance, healthcare organizations' top management and researchers will find this book a must read. A new perspective emerges as a practical solution for the healthcare organization's survival.

Implement change that fosters sustainable growth and better patient care Health care projects depend on astute management of change. But more than anything else, they depend on leaders who pay attention, who understand the importance of starting right, and who know how to launch projects that succeed. If leaders can increase the percentage of successful projects, patients, and practitioners everywhere will be better off and so will the organizations that depend on these projects for innovation. In Launching and Leading Change Initiatives in Health Care Organizations: Managing Successful Projects. Author David A. Shore of the Harvard School of Public Health speaks directly to the health care leaders and managers who see the need for change, but keep encountering nearly insurmountable challenges. Through his research, Shore discovered that most implementation failures occur because of a poor launch, and that strengthening processes and operations during the early weeks of a new project is a key to continued success. The book covers issues like: The preliminary groundwork that cultivates a stronger launch Systematic and selective project selection Building the team that accomplishes change Skill-building and record-keeping systems that foster sustainable growth Launching and Leading Change Initiatives in Health Care Organizations gives leaders and managers the practical, easy-to-implement ideas and methodologies to start and manage projects successfully.

A hacker accesses the medical records of more than 250,000 patients in a hospital-based clinic. Despite being counseled not to, staff in a psychiatric unit continually refer to a transgender boy using feminine pronouns, causing him acute depression and leading to his suicide. Citing moral objections and fearing prosecution, a physician refuses to prescribe lethal medication for a terminally ill cancer patient who wants to end her suffering. These kinds of situations don't just shock us with their drama; they also present serious legal challenges that healthcare leaders must be equipped to deal with. The Law of Healthcare Administration helps readers think through the issues, applying current legal principles and relevant judicial decisions. Author J. Stuart Showalter surveys the pressing issues that have resulted from two centuries of US policy, court decisions, and regulation. He writes from a management perspective, emphasizing a practical understanding of legal concepts, in a style that is clear and accessible to readers without a legal background. The ninth edition retains this authoritative book's many absorbing sidebars, surprising court records, and challenging discussion questions that have made it so engaging to past readers. The Law of Healthcare Administration prepares future leaders for the many legal challenges their institutions will likely face.

Whether you are a seasoned manager who is considering a mid-career change or a college-bound graduate looking at future career in the health science profession, this book offers you a comprehensive, quick glimpse of the health care industry. This book will enable you to begin asking further questions, identify untapped opportunities, and unleash the potential nesting in your current network. Written from a business perspective, this book provides managers with a framework for understanding the historical and competitive landscape in health care. It enables readers to evaluate past development, current issues, and projected changes that affect the industry. It is a good springboard for conversations pertinent to the strategic business development of businesses in the health care industry, especially for non-clinically trained professionals.

A structured strategic management approach is what's needed to tackle the revolutionary change the health care system has been experiencing. Today, health care organizations have almost universally embraced the strategic perspective first developed in the business sector and now have developed strategic management processes that are uniquely their own. Health care leaders have found that strategic thinking, planning, and managing strategic momentum are essential for coping with the dynamics of the health care industry. Strategic Management has become the single clearest manifestation of effective leadership of health care organizations. The 7th edition of this leading text has been revised and updated to include a greater focus on the global analysis of industry and competition; and analysis of the internal environment. It provides guidance on strategic planning, analysis of the health services environment (both internal and external) and lessons on implementation. It also looks at organizational capability, sustainability, CSR and the sources of organizational inertia and competency traps.

Sustainability is not unique to health, yet sustainability is a unique vehicle for promoting healthy values. This book challenges healthcare leaders to think through the implications of our decisions from fiscal, societal and environmental perspectives. It links health values with sustainability drivers in order to enlighten leadership about the value of sustainability as we move toward a new paradigm of health. Fully updated for the second edition, the book now includes case studies about: Waste disposal and cost Chemicals of concern Cost of water Green building ratings This book is a unique resource for researchers, students and professionals working in health and healthcare management because the book connects key concepts of environmental sustainability with healthcare operations. Readers will gain an appreciation for translating leadership priorities into sustainability tactics with beneficial operational outcomes.