Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
ABC of Dermatology by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014-03-21
With over 450 full colour images, ABC of Dermatology is a practical guide to identification, recognition, treatment and management of common dermatological conditions encountered within primary care, walk-in centres, and the emergency room and within patients admitted to hospital with medical/surgical conditions. Fully updated with new developments and treatments, this sixth edition provides expanded coverage of psoriasis, eczema, inflammatory dermatoses and drug photosensitivity. It also includes improved coverage of the management of onychomycosis, scabies and lice, and hair and scalp, and new content on biological treatments, lymphoedema, community acquired MRSA, pityriasis rosea, immune reconstitution syndrome and antifungal drugs. ABC of Dermatology is the ideal learning partner and resource for GPs, family physicians, junior doctors, medical students and primary care health professionals.
Causes and Environmental Implications of Increased UV-B Radiation by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2007-10-31
Since the realisation that the ozone layer protecting the earth is suffering massive depletion, atmospheric science has been increasingly in the spotlight. It is recognised that we need to increase our knowledge and understanding of the likely impact that increases in UV-B radiation will have on life on earth. Charting research that encompasses the changing distribution of atmospheric ozone, changes in UV-B radiation and the consequent effects on photochemistry and biological systems in the aquatic and terrestrial environments, Causes and Environmental Implications of Increased UV-B Radiation draws together experts from the international community. Also included is a discussion of the emotive and highly topical subject of skin cancer as related to increased UV-B radiation. As an up-to-date and authoritative summary of the state of this highly complex science, this book will be welcomed by all practitioners and researchers in the field.
Clinical Dermatology by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
The best-selling text has been completely revised and revitalised in this fifth edition, with the authors once again encouraging general practitioners, medical students, general physicians and early stage dermatology specialist trainees and interns to relish the unique challenge of diagnosing and treating skin conditions. Clinical Dermatology, 5th edition contains over 400 high quality pictures and diagrams combined with colourful phrases to illustrate and entertain as it teaches. The book has established a reputation as a 'way of learning' and as an accessible guide to the subject for the aspiring specialist. Readers are guided through the maze that too often lies between the presenting skin complaint and its final diagnosis and treatment. The authors have skilfully crafted an easily read text with enough detail to clarify the subject, but not enough to obscure it. This fifth edition contains new chapters on non-invasive physical treatment and dermoscopy, and new material on cosmetic dermatology, surgical dermatology, the skin and the psyche, and dermatoses of non-Caucasian skin. The text throughout the book has been updated in line with developments in the science and practice of dermatology. "... brilliantly succeeds in enticing you to look further. The writing is clear, and the joint British-American authorship avoids any parochial views." From a review of a previous edition in BMJ "...a very well-presented book...an excellent aid for teaching. I recommend this book highly to individuals and departments." From a review of a previous edition in J Derm Treatment "... provides a good overview of the structure and function of the skin as well as a good foundation for learning dermatology...well organized and includes a chapter dedicated to skin signs of systemic disease which is not covered in the other dermatology primers." From a review of a previous edition in JAMA
Evidence-Based Dermatology by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014-06-05
Be sure your skin-care treatments have strong evidential support Evidence-based Dermatology, Third Edition takes a unique approach to clinical dermatology by emphasising use of only the highest quality available evidence when treating people with skin diseases. Beginning with a toolbox introduction to the practice of evidence-based dermatology, it then covers the application of evidence for dermatological treatments across a wide range of ailments, including: * Common inflammatory skin diseases * Skin cancer, moles and actinic keratoses * Infective skin disease, exanthems and infestations * Disorders of pigmentation In addition, many of the rarer skin disorders are also included so as to provide comprehensive coverage of the topic. World-leading experts in dermatology follow a clinical approach for each disease, and as well as providing their expert guidance on the description and diagnosis of dermatologic disorders, they also discuss common dilemmas that clinicians face when considering the best approach to patient management. 'Key Points' accompany each chapter to provide a quick review of the most important points. Clinically oriented and practically focused, Evidence-based Dermatology ensures that your treatments are entirely patient-focused and fully supported by the very latest medical evidence.
Cancer Prevention: : The Causes and Prevention of Cancer by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2000-11-30
This Cancer Prevention book series aims to complement the research reported in the journal Cancer Causes and Control. Volumes in this series will summarize the state of the science from causes to prevention of cancer. The scope will be international. The past 20 years has seen an explosion of epidemiologic material on the causes of cancer. Examples include the growing number of studies of physical activity and colon cancer which have emerged and the numerous studies of components of diet such as alcohol and the risk of specific cancers. Major shifts in resource allocation now focus on translation of this new knowledge to actual cancer prevention programs. Researchers, practicing clinicians, and those who write and implement public health policy need this information summarized in an easily accessible format. The abundance of knowledge, increasing understanding of how to communicate risk of cancer to the public, and greater public awareness of cancer, make the coming years ones in which we will see many new attempts at widespread cancer prevention programs. For example, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention launched a national colon cancer awareness campaign in early 1999.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,123 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer healthand 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,190 journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also in
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
New England Journal of Medicine
Weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice.
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It will usually be better to use MEDLINE because it can link to all our paid resources, which PubMed cannot.
Articles from scholarly journals published by Elsevier. Includes science publications and other disciplines including business, management and accounting.