Selected Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- What's included? Full text, scholarly articles, reports, and conference proceedings on all subjects.
- Humanities Source
- Why search here? Coverage includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- What's included? Full text to many journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews.
- JStor
- Why search here? A digital library for the intellectually curious
- What's included? Access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Literature Resource Center
- Why search here? Excellent resource for any English class.
- What's included? Contains biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on literary figures and works from all time periods and genres.
- MLA International Bibliography
- Why search here? Produced by the Modern Language Association, sources focus on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism and dramatic arts.
- What's included? Citations and some full text for journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, dissertations, etc. from 1926 to present.
- Opposing viewpoints in Context
- Why search here? Contains articles, reports and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics.
- What's included? A list of some of the most hotly-debated topics with links to articles and other resources.
- Project MUSE
- Why search here? Contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.
- What's included? Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
- ProQuest Central
- Why search here? This is the largest multidisciplinary database available.
- What's included? All major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Directory of Open Access Journals
General Reference Databases
- Encyclopedia Britannica
- Why search here? A basic, but reliable starting place for general reference and knowledge. Use as an alternative to Wikipedia.
- What's included? Compare countries tool, World atlas and factbook, images, and Merriam-Webster College Dictionary and Thesaurus.
- Credo Reference
- Why search here? Scholarly alternative to Wikipedia.
- What's included? Collection of reference resources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and almanacs in a number of subject areas.