AmphibiaWeb connects people around the world by synthesizing and sharing information about amphibians to enable research, education, and conservation.

Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.

BioVeL is a virtual e-laboratory that supports research on biodiversity issues using large amounts of data from cross-disciplinary sources. BioVeL offers the possibility to use computerised "workflows" (series of data analysis steps) to process data, be that from one's own research and/or from existing sources.

The Cornell Lab of Ornithology is a member-supported unit of Cornell University in Ithaca, New York which studies birds and other wildlife. It is housed in the Imogene Powers Johnson Center for Birds and Biodiversity in Sapsucker Woods Sanctuary.

The Catalogue of Life, started in June 2001 by Species 2000 and Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS), is planned to become a comprehensive catalogue of all known species of organisms on Earth. The Catalogue currently compiles data from 156 peer-reviewed taxonomic databases, that are maintained by specialist institutions around the world.

The database contains detailed information on hundreds of dinosaurs and dinosaur related topics. Beginners and experts alike will love the detail contained within.

free on-line tools to identify species, teach and study nature's wonders, report findings, build maps, process images, and contribute to and learn from a growing, interactive encyclopedia of life with 1,286,982 species pages and 642,897 maps

The Encyclopedia of Life is an unprecedented effort to gather scientific knowledge about all animal and plant life on earth

FishBase is a comprehensive database of information about fish species (specifically finfish).[1] It is the largest and most extensively accessed online database on adult finfish on the web. (source - Wikipedia)

Fossilworks provides query, download, and analysis tools that utilize the Paleobiology Database's large relational database assembled by hundreds of paleontologists from around the world. The two websites and their predecessors have been used by professional researchers, students, and the public since 1998. The Fossilworks copy is refreshed daily. The data are owned by the contributors and the website and software were created by John Alroy. The site is housed at Macquarie University.

GBIF enables free and open access to biodiversity data online. We’re an international government-initiated and funded initiative focused on making biodiversity data available to all and anyone, for scientific research, conservation and sustainable development.

GeneCards is a searchable, integrative database that provides comprehensive, user-friendly information on all annotated and predicted human genes. It automatically integrates gene-centric data from ~125 web sources, including genomic, transcriptomic, proteomic, genetic, clinical and functional information.

Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities. It is managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the Species Survival Commission of IUCN (the International Union for Conservation of Nature).

The most comprehensive database of the world's tree species. Search c.60,000 tree species names and their country distributions.

The web's premier source of information on conifers and their allies. Since we went online on 1997, the Database has attracted worldwide attention as a readily accessible, scientifically accurate source of information on the classification, description, ecology and uses of this culturally and ecologically important group of plants. This home page gives some hints about how to navigate the Database, as well as providing background information for the curious.

The main homepage for Human Genome Project information --what the project is; its progress, history, and goals; what issues are associated.

Insect Images is a joint project of The University of Georgia - Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences - Department of Entomology, Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health, Georgia Museum of Natural History, The Entomology Society of America and USDA Identification Technology Program

Search the Department of Invertebrate Zoology Collections. The NMNH Invertebrate Zoology Collections include over 1.3 million online specimen records.

Welcome to ITIS, the Integrated Taxonomic Information System! Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership is proud to provide the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).

Welcome to NatureServe Explorer, an authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.

NOW (New and Old Worlds) fossil mammal database contains information mainly about Eurasian Miocene to Pleistocene land mammal taxa and localities. The emphasis of the database has been on the European Miocene and Pliocene but African localities are currently being added and updated, and North American localities will also be visible to the public in 2014

PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

Plants of the World Online (POWO) is an international collaborative programme that has as a primary aim to make available digitized data of the world’s flora gathered from the past 250 years of botanical exploration and research. POWO also aims to make freely available electronic data created by different projects but that no longer have an online presence or where data was never made available externally. It delivers information on the taxonomy, identification, images, distribution, traits, threat status, molecular phylogenies and uses of vascular plants worldwide.

AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.

The provides basic information about all living reptile species, such as turtles, snakes, lizards, and crocodiles, as well as tuataras and amphisbaenians, but does not include dinosaurs.

SORA is the world's first and largest open access ornithological publications archive. This resource is the product of collaborations between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico Libraries. SORA provides access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

Explore and download the Natural History Museum’s research and collections data. Over 2,800,000 of the Museum's 80 million specimens are now available online.

Search for museum specimens and observations by taxonomy, identifications, specimen attributes, and usage history. Provides access to over 1,990,000 records.

Tree of Life Web Project is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

Welcome to the database of Vertebrates:
fossil Fishes, Amphibians, Reptiles, Birds
(fosFARbase) localities and taxa from the Triassic to the Neogene

World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) aims to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy.