Library: Biological Sciences: Articles & Databases

Discovery Search (Everything)

Biological & Life Sciences Online Databases

Note - When accessing a library database from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Enter the same username and password that you use to logon to campus computers.

Environment Complete
- Why search here? Subjects covering agriculture, ecosystem; ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
- What's included? Full text for journals and magazines covering the scientific and social aspects of environmental studies.
GreenFILE
- Why search here? Resource focused on all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- What's included? Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles as well as some open access full text.
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
- Why search here? Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
- What's included? Access to the world's leading medical, life sciences, healthcare and biomedical journals published since 1950.
New England Journal of Medicine
- Why search here? NEJM is a weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles,and editorial opinion of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice.
- What's included? Online access to issues is available from 1990 through current issue.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
- Why search here? Open Access publisher with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
- What's included? Open Access (free) journals mainly in the life and health sciences.
PubMed Central
- Why search here? A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). It is better to use MEDLINE because it can link to all our paid resources, which PubMed cannot.
- What's included? Index to scholarly and research biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
- What's included? Full-text to many articles. OW only subscribes to some titles in this collection.
SciFinder
- Why search here? SciFinder retrieves information contained in databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) as well as the MEDLINE database from the National Library of Medicine.
- What's included? ChemDraw is available here.
  You must have a Scifinder username and password to access this database. Create an account with the Registration link below.
SciFinder registration (Create account HERE)
- In order to access the SciFinder database you must first create an account.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- What's included? Full text, scholarly articles, reports, and conference proceedings on all subjects.
JStor
- Why search here? A digital library for the intellectually curious
- What's included? Access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ProQuest Central
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? This is the largest multidisciplinary database available.
- What's included? All major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.

General Reference Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Google Scholar

Directories of Open Access Journals

Discovery Search (Everything)

Biological & Life Sciences Online Databases

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Library	8:30am – 5:00pm
Reference	24 Hours