History Databases
- Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- What's included? Full text, scholarly articles, reports, and conference proceedings on all subjects.
- Gale Academic OneFile
- Why search here? Academic OneFile is strongly focused on the undergraduate researcher.
- What's included? Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and virtually every subjects.
- JStor
- Why search here? A digital library for the intellectually curious
- What's included? Access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Project MUSE
- Why search here? Contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.
- What's included? Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
- ProQuest Central
- Why search here? This is the largest multidisciplinary database available.
- What's included? All major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Ebook Databases
- ProQuest Ebook Central
- Why search here? The ultimate Ebook Platform providing intuitive and easy to use platform.
- What's included? Access to E-books from a range of publishers covering a wide range of subjects.
- EBSCO Ebooks
- Why search here? Ebooks available on the EBSCO platform. Some titles are single user only.
- What's included? Thousands of full-text ebooks with clever tools for use.
Online Resources
- African Online Digital Library"AODL is an open access digital library of African cultural heritage materials created by Michigan State University in collaboration with museums, archives, scholars, and communities around the world."
- South African History OnlineSAHO is the largest popular history project of its kind on the continent. The SA Historys flagship project is its website, which is a vast encyclopaedia on South African and African history. The website is acknowledged for its accuracy, with all its articles carefully referenced and all featured articles are linked to a vast archive of documents, journal articles, online books and images.
SAHO's website along with its innovative education and internship and partnership programme with universities, museums and archives is aimed at strengthening research, and the teaching and learning of history and popularising history.
It has also changed the way people and institutions can access, contribute to and use history and archives. The success of the SAHO website can be gauged from the fact that in 2013 close to 4.5 million visitors of which 3 million were unique or first time visitors used our website. - World Digital LibraryUNESCO's World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Reference Databases
- Credo Reference
- Why search here? Scholarly alternative to Wikipedia.
- What's included? Collection of reference resources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and almanacs in a number of subject areas.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
- Why search here? A basic, but reliable starting place for general reference and knowledge. Use as an alternative to Wikipedia.
- What's included? Compare countries tool, World atlas and factbook, images, and Merriam-Webster College Dictionary and Thesaurus.