Articles & Databases - PY2720 Psychology of Gender - Library at SUNY College at Old Westbury

Skip to Main Content

Psychology Databases

PsycINFO
- Why search here? Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
- What's included? Includes all of PsycArticles plus more in Psychology and related fields.

PsycEXTRA
- Why search here? Psychology-research reports, grey literature, grant information, conference papers and abstracts, videos, etc. published by the APA.
- What's included? Contains publications such as technical and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, videos, press releases, and consumer brochures.

PsycARTICLES
- Why search here? It is usually more effective to use PsycINFO, which will link to ALL Psyc resources, including PsycARTICLES.
- What's included? Full text articles in general and specialized psychology and behavioral science.

PsycBOOKS
- Why search here? An extensive collection of full-text eBooks covering Applied, Developmental and Educational psychology, Personality, Psychological and physical disorders and Psychometrics and statistics.
- What's included? Coverage includes the most current scholarly and professional titles published by APA, as well as historical and classic works from the behavioral and social sciences.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- What's included? Full text, scholarly articles, reports, and conference proceedings on all subjects.

ProQuest Central
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? This is the largest multidisciplinary database available.
- What's included? All major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.

JStor
- Why search here? A digital library for the intellectually curious
- What's included? Access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
- What's included? Full-text to many articles. OW only subscribes to some titles in this collection.

Specialized Databases

MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
- Why search here? Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
- What's included? Access to the world's leading medical, life sciences, healthcare and biomedical journals published since 1950.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
- Why search here? Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska.
- What's included? Full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing.)

Google Scholar is a free search engine that helps users find scholarly literature from many sources and disciplines.

It can be used to search for: articles, books, theses, abstracts, and court opinions.

SUNY Old Westbury Library
223 Store Hill Rd
Campus Center
Old Westbury, NY 11568
(516) 876-3150

Today's Hours

Library	8:30am – 5:00pm
Reference	24 Hours