This book provides a much-needed survey of the discrimination and violence against women in developing countries, and identifies the literature and resources available about this topic. Because of improvements in communication technologies, the West has become increasingly aware of horrific examples of ongoing discrimination and violence against individual women in developing countries. As a result, more attention is being paid to the gender bias and hardship that women in developing countries face in their everyday lives, and the importance of these women in economic development and the alleviation of poverty is starting to be recognized. Women in Developing Countries: A Reference Handbook addresses topics like the status of women in developing countries; their access to education, health care, and the political process; their legal status; the extent to which they are considered property; female genital mutilation and other harmful practices; and other timely issues. This book also provides statistical information, data on selected nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) and other organizations set up to improve the lives and advance the status of women, and sources of further information in print and nonprint media.
This volume documents and explains the remarkable resilience of emerging market nations in East Asia and Latin America when faced with the global financial crisis in 2008-2009. Their quick bounceback from the crisis marked a radical departure from the past, such as when the 1982 debt shocks produced a decade-long recession in Latin America or when the Asian financial crisis dramatically slowed those economies in the late 1990s. Why? This volume suggests that these countries' resistance to the initial financial contagion is a tribute to financial-sector reforms undertaken over the past two decades. The rebound itself was a trade-led phenomenon, favoring the countries that had gone the farthest with macroeconomic restructuring and trade reform. Old labels used to describe "neoliberal versus developmentalist" strategies do not accurately capture the foundations of this recovery. These authors argue that policy learning and institutional reforms adopted in response to previous crises prompted policymakers to combine state and market approaches in effectively coping with the global financial crisis. The nations studied include Korea, China, India, Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil, accompanied by Latin American and Asian regional analyses that bring other emerging markets such as Chile and Peru into the picture. The substantial differences among the nations make their shared success even more remarkable and worthy of investigation. And although 2012 saw slowed growth in some emerging market nations, the authors argue this selective slowing suggests the need for deeper structural reforms in some countries, China and India in particular.
There are many economic issues especially relevant to developing countries and the third world such as international aid, globalization, free trade, and labor issues. In fact, the mix of them and other economic issues and conflicts over priorities and the urgency to transit to a Developed Country present an often overwhelming array of dilemmas. This new book presents new research on some of these issues.
Location: REF HC59.7 .D513 1990 v.1 (in-library use only)
TWENTIETH-CENTURY WAR AND CONFLICT "With rich entries that highlight the political context, strategic significance, and tactical detail of each conflict, this encyclopedia is an essential reference for students of military history and strategic studies." Theo Farrell, King's College London Drawn from the award-winning five-volume Encyclopedia ofWar (Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2013), the single-volume Twentieth-Century War and Conflict provides an essential guide to the conflicts and concepts that shaped warfare in the twentieth-century and up to the present day. This concise reference contains a range of entries from 1,000 to 6,000 words long, each written by a leading international scholar. This concise encyclopedia provides full coverage of global conflicts and themes in twentieth-century war. World Wars I and II are covered by 10 separate entries. Lesser conflicts are also incorporated in this volume, including the Russo-Japanese War, the Greco-Turkish War, the Falklands War, the Soviet War in Afghanistan, the Gulf Wars, and more. Issues such as chemical warfare, ethnic cleansing, psychological warfare, and women and war also receive substantial treatment, making this an invaluable resource for students and general readers alike.
Location: REF F1406 .C36 1985 (in-library use only)
From geology and biology to cinema and the theatre, this ambitious thematic encyclopedia, unique in scope and style, provides a much needed one-volume account of all aspects of Latin America and the Caribbean. Written by some fifty recognised experts in clear and accessible language for the general reader and copiously illustrated with full colour photographs, it discusses general themes as well as the individual countries in their own right. Ranging from contemporary economic problems, such as the debts of Brazil, Argentina and Mexico, and events of international political importance, such as the revolutions in Cuba and Nicaragua, through surveys of the flora and fauna, and the emergence of first human societies to the traditions of the samba and tango, writers such as Neruda, Borges and Garcia Marquez, and the potent production of the Mexican muralists, the Encyclopedia depicts lands and peoples which have long represented a distant enigma for the outside world but can no longer remain ignored by it.
Location: DT381 .M33 1994
Criminal Law Conversations provides an authoritative overview of contemporary criminal law debates in the United States. This collection of high caliber scholarly papers was assembled using an innovative and interactive method of nominations and commentary by the nation's top legal scholars. Virtually every leading scholar in the field has participated, resulting in a volume of interest to those both in and outside of the community. Criminal Law Conversations showcases the most captivatingof these essays, and provides insight into the most fundamental and provocative questions of modern criminal law.
Location: F1446 .D56 1973
Part 1: the growth of the settlement to 1798/ Introduction -- The Maya -- Discovery and settlement -- From buccaneering to mahogany cutting -- The conflict with Spain -- The status of the settlement Part 2: from settlement to colony, 1798-1862/ Government and the law -- Timber, trade and land -- Society and slavery -- Emancipation and free labour -- Boundaries and sovereignty:a colony defined Part 3: from colony to nation, 1862-1970/ Belize and her neighbours -- The making of a people -- The diversification of the economy -- The road to self-government -- A society in transition
Location: F1921 .D83 2013
A passionate and insightful account by a leading historian of Haiti that traces the sources of the country's devastating present back to its turbulent and traumatic history Even before the devastating 2010 earthquake, Haiti was known as a benighted place of poverty and corruption, blamed by many for its own wretchedness. But as acclaimed historian Laurent Dubois demonstrates, Haiti's troubled present can only be understood by examining its complex past. The country's difficulties are inextricably rooted in its founding revolution---the only successful slave revolt in the history of the world; the hostility that this rebellion generated among the surrounding colonial powers; and the intense struggle within Haiti itself to define its newfound freedom and realize its promise. Revealing what lies behind the familiar moniker "the poorest nation in the Western Hemisphere," this indispensable book illuminates the foundations on which a new Haiti might yet emerge. A New York Times Notable Book of the Year
Nigeria is Africa's most populous country and the world's eighth largest oil producer, but its success has been undermined in recent decades by ethnic and religious conflict, political instability, rampant official corruption and an ailing economy. Toyin Falola, a leading historian intimately acquainted with the region, and Matthew Heaton, who has worked extensively on African science and culture, combine their expertise to explain the context to Nigeria's recent troubles through an exploration of its pre-colonial and colonial past, and its journey from independence to statehood. By examining key themes such as colonialism, religion, slavery, nationalism and the economy, the authors show how Nigeria's history has been swayed by the vicissitudes of the world around it, and how Nigerians have adapted to meet these challenges. This book offers a unique portrayal of a resilient people living in a country with immense, but unrealized, potential.
Location: DR441 .H69 2001
The history of Turkey is a tumultuous one. In a succinct narrative, this study surveys the history of Turkey from the Neolithic age to the Byzantine age, then into the industrial age, and finally into the 21st century. Emphasizing the development of the republic since 1923, it offers the most up-to-date information on this nation. Howard, an authority in the field, shows how Turkey's political, economic, and social system developed as a result of the founding vision of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk and circumstances of the Cold War. The history concentrates on the establishment of the Turkish republic as a single-party state in the first half of the 20th century and on the development of politics, the economy, and society during the Cold War years. The work includes a timeline of important events in the history of Turkey, biographies of its leading figures, a glossary of terms, and a bibliographic essay. This narrative history is ideal for student use and for updating library collections on the history of Turkey.
Imagine a nation with the highest proportion of women legislators in the world. Imagine a country where a democratically elected president is committed to gender equality and poverty reduction, where urban and rural schools are being wired to the Internet, and where the government is committed to becoming a middle-income country by 2020. Imagine that this country is located in the heart of sub-Saharan Africa and that this progress comes in the wake of one of the 20th century's worst genocides. Fifteen years removed from a mass genocide that resulted in the deaths of nearly one million people, Rwanda today presents a model for hope, justice, innovation and human development. In fact, Rwanda is now a leader in achieving economic, political and social progress in this beleaguered continent. A new model of governance has emerged in this poor, African country. This model, which draws on century's old Rwandan customs called Ubudehe and IMIHIGO, is inclusive, transparent, empowers the poor, and holds leaders accountable for improving the well being of people in their districts. Rwanda: History and Hope focuses on the innovative path Rwanda has taken in governance and reconciliation, gender equity, education, health and economic growth. The authors spent a decade working and researching in the country to prepare this path-breaking book.
In the more than thirty years since the publication of Daniel H. Janzen's classic Costa Rican Natural History, research in this small but astonishingly biodiverse, well-preserved, and well-studied Latin American nation has evolved from a species-level approach to the study of entire ecosystems. And from the lowland dry forests of Guanacaste to the montane cloud forests of Monteverde, from the seasonal forests of the Central Valley to the coastal species assemblages of Tortuguero, Costa Rica has proven to be as richly diverse in ecosystems as it is in species. In Costa Rican Ecosystems, Maarten Kappelle brings together a collection of the world's foremost experts on Costa Rican ecology--outstanding scientists such as Daniel H. Janzen, Jorge Cortés, Jorge A. Jiménez, Sally P. Horn, Robert O. Lawton, Quírico Jiménez M., Carlos Manuel Rodríguez, Catherine M. Pringle, and Eduardo Carrillo J., among others--to offer the first comprehensive account of the diversity, structure, function, uses, and conservation of Costa Rica's ecosystems. Featuring a foreword and introductory remarks by two renowned leaders in biodiversity science and ecological conservation, Thomas E. Lovejoy and Rodrigo Gámez Lobo, in addition to chapters highlighting the geology, soils, and climate of Costa Rica, as well as the ecosystems of its terrestrial, freshwater, and marine habitats, and including previously unpublished information on Isla del Coco, this beautiful color-illustrated book will be an essential reference for academic scientists, students, natural history guides, conservationists, educators, park guards, and visitors alike.
