Library: CP2120: Research Guide: Articles/Databases

Primo Discovery Search (Everything)

Keywords:

Online Databases

Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- What's included? Full text, scholarly articles, reports, and conference proceedings on all subjects.
Environment Complete
- Why search here? Subjects covering agriculture, ecosystem; ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects.
- What's included? Full text for journals and magazines covering the scientific and social aspects of environmental studies.
GreenFILE
- Why search here? Resource focused on all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- What's included? Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles as well as some open access full text.
JStor
- Why search here? A digital library for the intellectually curious
- What's included? Access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
- Why search here? Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
- What's included? Access to the world's leading medical, life sciences, healthcare and biomedical journals published since 1950.
ProQuest Central
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? This is the largest multidisciplinary database available.
- What's included? All major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
PubMed Central
- Why search here? A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). It is better to use MEDLINE because it can link to all our paid resources, which PubMed cannot.
- What's included? Index to scholarly and research biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
- What's included? Full-text to many articles. OW only subscribes to some titles in this collection.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations

Directory of Open Access Journals

Chemistry Databases

American Chemical Society Online
- Why search here? Articles from over 50 peer-reviewed journals and magazines published by American Chemical Society.
- What's included? Color full text and images available in HTML or PDF format from a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines.
Chemical & Engineering News Archives
- Why search here? Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN) is an award-winning go-to news source for members of the worldwide chemistry community in academia, industry, and beyond.
- What's included? Part of ACS Publications. Fulltext to current and archived issues dating from 1923.
JoVE Science Education
- Why search here? An extensive video library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations.
- What's included? Educational videos that highlight practical and conceptual topics supporting basic and advanced biology, chemistry, clinical skills, engineering, environmental science, physics, and psychology..
SciFinder
- Why search here? SciFinder retrieves information contained in databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) as well as the MEDLINE database from the National Library of Medicine.
- What's included? ChemDraw is available here.
  You must have a Scifinder username and password to access this database. Create an account with the Registration link below.
SciFinder registration (Create account HERE)
- In order to access the SciFinder database you must first create an account.

Chemical Compounds

ATSDR: Toxicological Profiles
Toxicological Profiles (Tox Profiles) are a unique compilation of toxicological information on a given hazardous substance. Each peer-reviewed Tox Profile reflects a comprehensive and extensive evaluation, summary, and interpretation of available toxicological and epidemiological information on a substance.

SUNY Old Westbury Library
223 Store Hill Rd
Campus Center
Old Westbury, NY 11568
(516) 876-3150

Today's Hours

Library	8:30am – 5:00pm
Reference	24 Hours

Electronic Resources for Chemistry

General Reference Databases