from The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
458 words
Excerpt: "The science that specifically examines the relationships between microorganisms and their biotic and abiotic environments. Although the term ‘microbial ecology’ was first defined by Ernst Haeckel in 1866 (see Characters in ecology), the field of microbial ecology did not begin to emerge until the early 1960s. The field became established during the late 1970s and has since continued to expand. Microbial ecologists study the role of microorganisms in the global cycling of materials and the interactions of microorganisms with each other and with plants and animals. The group ‘microorganisms’ includes a diversity of taxa such as viruses, prions, viroids, bacteria, fungi, algae and protozoa."

from Encyclopedia of Microbiology
7,576 words
Excerpt: "The rumen is a specialized foregut in ruminant animals that is the site of an active, anaerobic microbial fermentation of feedstuffs to produce volatile fatty acids and microbial cell protein that serve as primary nutrient sources for the host. Sequence analysis of DNA from ruminal contents has revealed that the microbial community contains hundreds to thousands of species of bacteria, protozoa, fungi, and archaea, the vast majority of which have eluded isolation and characterization. The community provides numerous examples of interspecific interactions (competition, amensalism, mutualism, commensalism and predation) that maintain a balanced fermentative activity."

from Encyclopedia of Microbiology
29,643 words
Excerpt: "This article provides a review of the state-of-the-art of models in microbial ecology, ranging from the microscopic level (e.g., resource uptake) to the macroscopic level (e.g., spatial organization). Special emphasis is given to the modelling of (i) uptake kinetics, elemental stoichiometry and functional trade-offs; (ii) food web and eco-evolutionary dynamics; (iii) micro-scale variability and social behavior in microbes. The overarching point of view is the use of theoretical models to improve our understanding of how microbial communities operate and affect ecosystem functioning."

from Encyclopedia of Microbiology
12,367 words
Excerpt: "Microbial ecology is a relatively young discipline within the field of microbiology. Its modern history spans just the past 65 years, and the field is defined by its emphasis on understanding the interactions of microbes with their environment, rather than their behavior under artificial laboratory conditions. Because microbes are ubiquitous, microbial ecologists study a broad diversity of habitats that range from aquatic to terrestrial to plant- or animal-associated. This has made it a challenge to identify unifying principles within the field. One approach is to recognize that although the activities of microbes in nature have effects at the macroscale, they interact with their physical, chemical, and biological milieu at a scale of micrometers."

from The Princeton Guide to Ecology
7,252 words
Excerpt: "Seascapes are marine analogs of landscapes in the terrestrial biosphere, namely the physical, chemical, and biological elements that collectively define a particular marine habitat. The field of seascape ecology, also referred to as ecological geography of the sea, seeks fundamental understanding of spatial and temporal variability in habitat structure and its relationships to ecosystem function, including solar energy capture and dissipation, trophic interactions and their effects on nutrient dynamics, and patterns and controls of biodiversity. Implicit in the study of seascape ecology is an interest in the management of global resources through the development of new theory, the establishment of long-term ecological observation programs, and the dissemination of knowledge to society at large."