Library: BS4474: Microbial Ecology : Ebooks

Ebooks: A - H

Brewing Microbiology by Charles W. Bamforth (Editor); Nicholas A. Bokulich (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781910190623
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Research into brewing yeast and other organisms associated with beer and brewing has experienced many important advances in the past decade, propelled by technological advances in tools fundamental to the investigation of microbes and their metabolism.
This volume surveys the most recent discoveries in brewing microbiology, with an emphasis on omics techniques and other modern technologies. Discoveries in these areas have furthered our knowledge of brewing processes, with practical applications from barley growth and malting to yeast management, strain selection, fermentation control, and quality assurance. The chapters, written by experts in the field, aim not only to illuminate recent progress, but also to discuss its impact on brewing practices. Topics covered include the physiology, fermentation, taxonomy, diversity, typing, genetic manipulation, genomics and evolution of brewing yeasts. Further areas covered include the fungal contamination of barley and malt, spoilage by lactic acid bacteria and gram-negative bacteria, and beer-spoiling yeasts.
This volume is highly recommended for anyone involved in the microbiology of brewing.
Climate Change and Microbial Ecology by Jürgen Marxsen (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781910190326
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
The distribution and function of microorganisms are of crucial importance for the flow of matter in the Earth's biogeochemical cycles. Effects of microbial communities on the carbon and nitrogen cycles are particularly important for producing climate gases such as CO2, CH4, or N2O. However, the biogeochemical cycles are reversely impacted by global climate change, for example by increasing temperature, increasing CO2 concentration, or changing soil humidity. However microbes may respond differently, by accelerating or by alleviating, human-caused climate change. Understanding of microbial ecology in the different ecosystems on Earth, such as soil, oceans, or inland waters, is essential for our ability to assess the importance of biogeochemical cycles-climate feedbacks. Unfortunately, microbial communities are extremely complex in structure and function and can be affected by climate and other global changes in many ways, which impedes our ability to draw reliable conclusions. In this book, a broad range of renowned scientists reviews the most important hot-topics in the area of climate change and microbial ecology, thus providing a timely and authoritative overview of this increasingly important area. Individual chapters cover the various ecosystems on Earth as well as the different groups of microorganisms with respect to different cycles of matter. In addition, special chapters cover applied aspects, such as land-use and geoengineering. This is an essential book for every microbial ecologist from the PhD student to the experienced scientist and is also recommended for everyone interested in the field of global climate change.
Handbook of Molecular Microbial Ecology II by Frans J. de Bruijn
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118010525
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The premiere two-volume reference on revelations from studying complex microbial communities in many distinct habitats Metagenomics is an emerging field that has changed the way microbiologists study microorganisms. It involves the genomic analysis of microorganisms by extraction and cloning of DNA from a group of microorganisms, or the direct use of the purified DNA or RNA for sequencing, which allows scientists to bypass the usual protocol of isolating and culturing individual microbial species. This method is now used in laboratories across the globe to study microorganism diversity and for isolating novel medical and industrial compounds. Handbook of Molecular Microbial Ecology is the first comprehensive two-volume reference to cover unculturable microorganisms in a large variety of habitats, which could not previously have been analyzed without metagenomic methodology. It features review articles as well as a large number of case studies, based largely on original publications and written by international experts. This second volume, Metagenomics in Different Habitats, covers such topics as: Viral genomes Metagenomics studies in a variety of habitats, including marine environments and lakes, soil, and human and animal digestive tracts Other habitats, including those involving microbiome diversity in human saliva and functional intestinal metagenomics; diversity of archaea in terrestrial hot springs; and microbial communities living at the surface of building stones Biodegradation Biocatalysts and natural products A special feature of this book is the highlighting of the databases and computer programs used in each study; they are listed along with their sites in order to facilitate the computer-assisted analysis of the vast amount of data generated by metagenomic studies. Such studies in a variety of habitats are described here, which present a large number of different system-dependent approaches in greatly differing habitats. Handbook of Molecular Microbial Ecology II is an invaluable reference for researchers in metagenomics, microbial ecology, microbiology, and environmental microbiology; those working on the Human Microbiome Project; microbial geneticists; and professionals in molecular microbiology and bioinformatics.

Ebooks: M

Microbial Ecology by Larry L. Barton; Diana E. Northup
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118015827
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
This book covers the ecological activities of microbes in the biosphere with an emphasis on microbial interactions within their environments and communities In thirteen concise and timely chapters, Microbial Ecology presents a broad overview of this rapidly growing field, explaining the basic principles in an easy-to-follow manner. Using an integrative approach, it comprehensively covers traditional issues in ecology as well as cutting-edge content at the intersection of ecology, microbiology, environmental science and engineering, and molecular biology. Examining the microbial characteristics that enable microbes to grow in different environments, the book provides insights into relevant methodologies for characterization of microorganisms in the environment. The authors draw upon their extensive experience in teaching microbiology to address the latest hot-button topics in the field, such as: Ecology of microorganisms in natural and engineered environments Advances in molecular-based understanding of microbial phylogeny and interactions Microbially driven biogeochemical processes and interactions among microbial populations and communities Microbial activities in extreme or unusual environments Ecological studies pertaining to animal, plant, and insect microbiology Microbial processes and interactions associated with environmental pollution Designed for use in teaching, Microbial Ecology offers numerous special features to aid both students and instructors, including: Information boxes that highlight key microbial ecology issues "Microbial Spotlights" that focus on how prominent microbial ecologists became interested in microbial ecology Examples that illustrate the role of bacterial interaction with humans Exercises to promote critical thinking Selected reading lists Chapter summaries and review questions for class discussion Various microbial interactions and community structures are presented through examples and illustrations. Also included are mini case studies that address activities of microorganisms in specific environments, as well as a glossary and key words. All these features make this an ideal textbook for graduate or upper-level undergraduate students in biology, microbiology, ecology, or environmental science. It also serves as a highly useful reference for scientists and environmental professionals.
Microbial Ecology: An Evolutionary Approach by J. Vaun McArthur
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780080511542
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Based on the thesis that insights into both evolution and ecology can be obtained through the study of microorganismsm, Microbial Ecology examines microbiology through the lens of evolutionary ecology. Measured from a microbial perspective, this text covers such topics as optimal foraging, genome, reduction, novel evolutionary mechanisms, bacterial speciation, and r and K selection. Numerous aspects of microbial existence are also discussed and include: species competition, predation, parasitism, mutualism, microbial communication through quorum sensing and other. The result is a context for understanding microbes in nature and a framework for microbiologists working in industry, medicine, and the environment. Applies evolutionary ecological concepts to microbes Addresses individual, population and community ecology Presents species concepts and offers insights on the origin of life and modern microbial ecology Examines topics such as species interactions, nutrient cycling, quorum sensing and cheating
Microbial Ecology: Current Advances from Genomics, Metagenomics and Other Omics by Diana Marco (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781912530038
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
The development of metagenomics, metatranscriptomics, metaproteomics, metametabolomics and other related methods has made a significant contribution to the understanding of the complexity of the interactions among microorganisms and of the interaction of microorganisms with their environment and with other organisms. The field of microbial ecology is experiencing a new era of discovery leading to a greater understanding of the patterns, processes and mechanisms governing the structure and dynamics of microbiomes.
This book presents selected recent hot-topics in the application of advanced omics methods to the field of microbial ecology. Written by specialist scientists under the experienced editorial guidance of Diana Marco, the book covers both the theoretical and applied aspects of microbial ecology. Topics include the investigation of the patterns, processes and mechanisms in microbial ecology, microbiome sequencing, soil microbiology, insular microbiogeography, sediment microbial communities, and wildlife microbial genomics and endocrinology.
This timely volume is indispensable for scientific researchers, educators and advanced students interested in approaching the microbial ecology field by utilizing the most recent and advanced omics methods. The book is invaluable for everyone working in the field of microbial ecology and is recommended reading for all microbiologists.

Ebooks: M - O

Microbial Ecology in States of Health and Disease by Institute of Medicine; Board on Global Health; Forum on Microbial Threats; Alison Mack (Editor); LeighAnne Olsen (Editor); Eileen R. Choffnes (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780309290630
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
Individually and collectively, resident microbes play important roles in host health and survival. Shaping and shaped by their host environments, these microorganisms form intricate communities that are in a state of dynamic equilibrium. This ecologic and dynamic view of host-microbe interactions is rapidly redefining our view of health and disease. It is now accepted that the vast majority of microbes are, for the most part, not intrinsically harmful, but rather become established as persistent, co-adapted colonists in equilibrium with their environment, providing useful goods and services to their hosts while deriving benefits from these host associations. Disruption of such alliances may have consequences for host health, and investigations in a wide variety of organisms have begun to illuminate the complex and dynamic network of interaction - across the spectrum of hosts, microbes, and environmental niches - that influence the formation, function, and stability of host-associated microbial communities. "Microbial Ecology in States of Health and Disease" is the summary of a workshop convened by the Institute of Medicine's Forum on Microbial Threats in March 2013 to explore the scientific and therapeutic implications of microbial ecology in states of health and disease. Participants explored host-microbe interactions in humans, animals, and plants; emerging insights into how microbes may influence the development and maintenance of states of health and disease; the effects of environmental change(s) on the formation, function, and stability of microbial communities; and research challenges and opportunities for this emerging field of inquiry.
Microbial Ecology in Sustainable Agroecosystems by Tanya E. Cheeke (Editor); David C. Coleman (Editor); Diana H. Wall (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781439852972
Publication Date: 2012-07-17
While soil ecologists continue to be on the forefront of research on biodiversity and ecosystem function, there are few interdisciplinary studies that incorporate ecological knowledge into sustainable land management practices. Conventional, high fossil-fuel input-based agricultural systems can reduce soil biodiversity, alter soil community structu
Microbial Ecology of the Oceans by David L. Kirchman (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780470281833
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
"I would strongly recommend it for library purchase and the reading list of advanced students in this field." --Microbiology Today, May 2009 Nearly a decade since its landmark publication, this book has been thoroughly revised in this valuable new edition Like the successful first edition, Microbial Ecology of the Oceans, Second Edition is unique and fills a void in the rapidly growing fields of marine microbiology, microbial ecology, and microbial oceanography. Here, a carefully selected team of international experts explores issues of enduring importance to microbial ecologists, including: Genomes and metagenomes of marine microbes Microbial evolution, as revealed by molecular techniques Microbes in carbon budgets and cycles Viruses and grazers of bacteria Microbes and N cycle reactions in sediments The role of microbes in food web dynamics Biogeochemical cycles in the ocean In addition to drawing on the long history of microbiology, the contributors also include discussions of the latest advances in biological and chemical oceanography to examine the role of microbes and viruses in the oceans. Richly illustrated with black-and-white photographs and drawings, and complemented with a comprehensive list of additional reading for each chapter, this important new edition provides readers with current information in the fields of marine microbiology and microbial ecology. It is designed for students and researchers in biological and chemical oceanography, geochemistry, marine chemistry, freshwater ecology, and general microbiology. It is also appropriate for professionals and advanced students in related fields.
Oral Microbial Ecology: Current Research and New Perspectives by Nicholas S. Jakubovics (Editor); Robert J. Palmer Jr. (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781908230829
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
The oral cavity supports a rich and diverse microbial population. Oral health is dependent on the maintenance of stable microbial communities; disease occurs when this balance is disturbed and more pathogenic species outgrow the commensals. Health and disease in the mouth are active processes in which the ecology of communities, not of single organisms, is paramount. In this book, expert contributors from around the world provide an update on recent developments in the burgeoning field of oral microbial ecology. The chapters are arranged into five sections: microbial populations in oral biofilms, the structure of oral biofilms, communication and sensing within biofilms, health to disease, and new approaches for oral biofilm control.

Library	8:30am – 5:00pm
Reference	24 Hours

Discovery Search (Everything)

Ebooks: A - H

Ebooks: M

Ebooks: M - O