Library: BS3450: Plant Biology: Recommended Readings

Local Plant Identification Guides

Flora of the Northeast: A Manual of the Vascular Flora of New England and Adjacent New York by Dennis W. Magee; Harry E. Ahles; Abigail Rorer (Illustrator)
Call Number: Ebook (Unlimited User)
ISBN: 9781558491892
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Designed as both a reference work and a year-round field manual, this volume contains more than 2,400 range maps and 995 line drawings. For botanists, naturalists, and students interested in an up-to-date treatment of the vascular flora of greater New England, it will be an invaluable resource. The geographic scope of the work extends from the Canadian border south through Long Island and west to the Hudson River. The "General Keys" section contains fourteen keys that include such groups as aquatic plants, vines, and woody plants in winter condition. For both woody and herbaceous families, the keys cover flowering as well as fruiting condition. The "Descriptive Flora" section includes keys to all of the genera and species, descriptions of the families and genera, and accounts of the individual species. The latter incorporate information on wetland site index, rare status, wildlife food value, food and medicinal value for humans, and poisonous or hallucinogenic properties. The distributions of more than 2,400 species are presented on range maps, and the book includes line drawings of 995 species, showing diagnostic features designed to clarify descriptions used in the keys. Near the end of the volume there are two matrices of diagnostic characteristics, one for dicots and one for woody plants in winter condition. These matrices can be used to identify a specimen displaying limited information, or to find examples of given vegetative, flower, or fruit characteristics for use in teaching. Throughout the book, the keys have been made as user-friendly as possible, employing in most cases short, concise couplets rather than long, cumbersome ones. Presenting a wealth of scientificallyaccurate information in a precise and clear format, this volume will be extremely useful as as a reference work, as a textbook for courses in plant systematics, and as a field manual.
Foraging New York: Finding, Identifying, and Preparing Edible Wild Foods by Steve Brill
Call Number: Ebook (Unlimited User)
ISBN: 9781493024285
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
From beach peas to serviceberries, cattails to burdock root, and ostrich ferns to sea rocket, Foraging New York uncovers the edible wild foods and healthful herbs of the Empire State. Helpfully organized by food group and season, this book is an authoritative guide for nature lovers, outdoor enthusiasts, and gastronomes. This guide also includes: Species ranging from herbs to trees, Expert advice on identifying, preparing, freezing, drying, storing, and cooking wild edibles, Tools, techniques, and foraging etiquette, Recipes to prepare at home and on the trail Book jacket.

Plant Biology Reference Shelf

The following is an alphabetic list of scholarly ebooks relevant to the topic of plant biology. If accessing any of these ebooks from off campus, you will be first prompted to enter your campus username and password to authenticate.

Ebooks: A - G

Achievements of the National Plant Genome Initiative and New Horizons in Plant Biology by Board on Life Sciences; Committee on the National Plant Genome Initiative: Achievements and Future Directions; National Research Council; Division on Earth and Life Studies; Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780309114196
Publication Date: 2008-03-20
Life on Earth would be impossible without plants. Humans rely on plants for most clothing, furniture, food, as well as for many pharmaceuticals and other products. Plant genome sciences are essential to understanding how plants function and how to develop desirable plant characteristics. For example, plant genomic science can contribute to the development of plants that are drought-resistant, those that require less fertilizer, and those that are optimized for conversion to fuels such as ethanol and biodiesel. The National Plant Genome Initiative (NPGI) is a unique, cross-agency funding enterprise that has been funding and coordinating plant genome research successfully for nine years. Research breakthroughs from NPGI and the National Science Foundation Arabidopsis 2010 Project, such as how the plant immune system controls pathogen defense, demonstrate that the plant genome science community is vibrant and capable of driving technological advancement. This book from the National Research Council concludes that these programs should continue so that applied programs on agriculture, bioenergy, and others will always be built on a strong foundation of fundamental plant biology research.
C4 Plant Biology by Rowan F. Sage (Series edited by); Russell K. Monson (Series edited by)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780080528397
Publication Date: 1998-12-21
Due to many issues related to long-term carbon dynamics, an improved understanding of the biology of C4 photosynthesis is required by more than the traditional audience of crop scientists, plant physiologists, and plant ecologists. This work synthesizes the latest developments in C4 biochemistry, physiology, systematics, and ecology. The book concludes with chapters discussing the role of C4 plants in the future development of the biosphere, particularly their interactive effects on soil, hydrological, and atmospheric processes.
Ecology and Evolution of Flowers by Lawrence D. Harder (Editor); Spencer C. H. Barrett (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780191513862
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
The reproductive organs and mating biology of angiosperms (flowering plants) exhibit greater variety than those of any other group of organism, and floral traits provide some of the most compelling examples of evolution by natural selection. Given this diversity, a more strategic approach to their study is required which seeks to unravel general principles concerning the role of ecological function in the evolution of reproductive diversity. Harder & Barrett adopt just such an approach to expose new insights into the functional basis of floral diversity. Major sections of the book in turn examine functional aspects of floral traits and sexual systems, the ecological influences on reproductive adaptation, and the role of floral biology in angiosperm diversification. Overall, this integrated treatment illustrates the role of floral function and evolution in the generation of angiosperm biodiversity. - ;The reproductive organs and mating biology of angiosperms exhibit greater variety than those of any other group of organisms. Flowers and inflorescences are also the most diverse structures produced by angiosperms, and floral traits provide some of the most compelling examples of evolution by natural selection. Given that flowering plants include roughly 250,000 species, their reproductive diversity will not be explained easily by continued accumulation of case studies of individual species. Instead a more strategic approach is now required, which seeks to identify general principles concerning the role of ecological function in the evolution of reproductive diversity. The Ecology and Evolution of Flowers uses this approach to expose new insights into the functional basis of floral diversity, and presents the very latest theoretical and empirical research on floral evolution. Floral biology is a dynamic and growing area and this book, written by the leading internationally recognized researchers in this field, reviews current progress in understanding the evolution and function of flowers. Chapters contain both new research findings and synthesis. Major sections in turn examine functional aspects of floral traits and sexual systems, the ecological influences on reproductive adaptation, and the role of floral biology in angiosperm diversification. Overall, this integrated treatment illustrates the role of floral function and evolution in the generation of angiosperm biodiversity. This advanced textbook is suitable for graduate level students taking courses in plant ecology, evolution, systematics, biodiversity and conservation. It will also be of interest and use to a broader audience of plant scientists seeking an authoritative overview of recent advances in floral biology.
Forest Soils: Properties and Processes by Ken Armson
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781442656338
Publication Date: 2016-01-29
This is a comprehensive study of forest soils for foresters, wildlife and park managers, ecologists, and others interested in forest soils. It provides a valuable text for introductory and more advanced courses. The first ten chapters deal with basic soil information: texture, structure, and porosity; colour, temperature, and aeration; water; organic content; biological organisms and processes; chemistry; fertility; classification; and surveys. The last six chapters consider the components of the forest soil systems as related processes, discussing roots, fire, and water and nutrient cycles as they exist in natural forests and as they are modified by man. Professor Armson examines the process of forest soil development, and the place of soil as a part of a continuously changing landscape from both the historical and ecological viewpoints. An appendix describes the procedures for soil profile description and sampling. Full bibliographical references are supplied.
Garden Genetics: Teaching with Edible Plants (Combined Teacher and Student Edition) by Elizabeth Rice
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781933531977
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Tired of teaching genetic concepts with the same old pink petunias and MendelOCOs peas? With Garden Genetics, you can present core content in ways that are fun for students and fresh for you. This two-part setOCoa teacher edition and companion student editionOCouses a series of activities and inquiry-based experiments with familiar foods to teach genetics while helping students make connections to ecology, evolution, plant biology, and even social science."

Ebooks: G - O

A Guide to Medicinal Plants: An Illustrated Scientific and Medicinal Approach by Koh Hwee Ling; Tung Kian C. Chua; Chay Hoon Tan
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9789812837103
Publication Date: 2009-02-20
This book presents up-to-date information on a total of 75 native and non-native medicinal plants growing in Singapore. Comprehensive and useful information from the published literature -- including plant descriptions and origins, traditional medicinal uses, phytoconstituents, pharmacological activities, adverse reactions, toxicities, and reported drug-herb interactions -- is presented in an easy-to-read manner for easy and quick reference. There is no minimum level of knowledge required to read this book, and botanical and medical glossaries are also provided for readers' convenience.The book will be of great practical benefit to a wide-ranging audience. Educators and students in complementary medicine and health, pharmacognosy, medicinal chemistry, natural products, pharmacology, toxicology, pharmacovigilance, medicine, pharmacy, nursing, botany, biology, chemistry and life sciences will find the information useful. The book will also appeal to clinicians, pharmacists, nurses and researchers, as it contains a comprehensive reference list at the end for further reading.
The Handbook of Plant Metabolomics by Wolfram Weckwerth (Editor); Guenter Kahl (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9783527669899
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
This is the newest title in the successful Molecular Plant Biology Handbook Series. Just like the other titles in the series this new book presents an excellent overview of different approaches and techniques in Metabolomics. Contributors are either from ivy-league research institutions or from companies developing new technologies in this dynamic and fast-growing field. With its approach to introduce current techniques in plant metabolomics to a wider audience and with many labs and companies considering to introduce metabolomics for their research, the title meets a growing market. The Kahl books are in addition a trusted brand for the plant science community and have always sold above expectations.
Medicinal Plants: Classification, Biosynthesis and Pharmacology by Alejandro Varela; Jasiah Iban~ez
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781617616624
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Plants have been the main source of medicines since ancient times. This book examines Scutellaria baicalensis, one of the most widely used medicinal plants whose roots have been used for anti-inflammation, anticancer, decreasing blood pressures, reducing the total cholesterol level and treating bacterial and viral infections.
Medicinal Plants of the World by Ivan A. Ross
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780585224022
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This new volume of Medicinal Plants of the world serves as an extraordinary compendium of information on herbal medicine. Picking up where the previous volume left off, it comprehensively documents the medicinal value of twenty-four additional major plant species widely used around the world in medical formulations. The book's exhaustive summary of available scientific data for the plant provides detailed information on how each plant is used in different countries, describing both traditional therapeutic applications and what is known from its use in clinical trials. Additional material presented includes a botanical description of each plant with a color photo of all plants for identification, the common names used for the plant throughout the world, and a listing of the plant's known chemical constituents. A comprehensive bibliography of 3,225 references illuminates the literature available from a wide range of disciplines. This book offers a unprecedented collection of vital scientific information for pharmacologists, herbal medicine practitioners, drug developers, medicinal chemists, phytochemists, toxicologists, and researchers who want to explore the use of plant materials for medicinal and related purposes.
Omics in Plant Breeding by Aluízio Borém (Editor); Roberto Fritsche-Neto (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118821053
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Computational and high-throughput methods, such as genomics, proteomics, and transcriptomics, known collectively as "-omics," have been used to study plant biology for well over a decade now. As these technologies mature, plant and crop scientists have started using these methods to improve crop varieties. Omics in Plant Breeding provides a timely introduction to key omicsbased methods and their application in plant breeding. Omics in Plant Breeding is a practical and accessible overview of specific omics-based methods ranging from metabolomics to phenomics. Covering a single methodology within each chapter, this book provides thorough coverage that ensures a strong understanding of each methodology both in its application to, and improvement of, plant breeding. Accessible to advanced students, researchers, and professionals, Omics in Plant Breeding will be an essential entry point into this innovative and exciting field. * A valuable overview of high-throughput, genomics-based technologies and their applications to plant breeding * Each chapter explores a single methodology, allowing for detailed and thorough coverage * Coverage ranges from well-established methodologies, such as genomics and proteomics, to emerging technologies, including phenomics and physionomics Aluízio Borém is a Professor of Plant Breeding at the University of Viçosa in Brazil. Roberto Fritsche-Neto is a Professor of Genetics and Plant Breeding at the University of São Paulo in Brazil.
The Origin, Expansion, and Demise of Plant Species by Donald A. Levin
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780195351958
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Combining insights from observation, experimentation, and theory, The Origin, Expansion, and Demise of Plant Species offers a broad overview of species as dynamic entities that arise, have unique evolutionary histories, and ultimately go extinct. It begins with a review of species concepts and the exposition of a new concept; it then addresses plant speciation, the expansion of species from their narrow centers of origin, intraspecific differentiation, and contact zones between differentiated population systems. Special attention is given to the breakdown of cohesion among populations by reproductive and spatial barriers. Also, the ecological and genetic properties of small populations and fragmented population systems are discussed with a focus on the role of hybridization in the demise of species. It ends with an exploration of the longevity of species and the tempo of diversification, contrasting different groups of plants in these respects as well as in rates of chromosomal differentiation.This book provides a new synthesis of evolutionary biology and ecology. It examines species from their origins, then follows them through their expansion, differentiation and loss of cohesion, and decline and extinction. The stages in the lives of species are viewed through ecological and genetic theory, and topics typically addressed independently are woven into a continuous fabric. As the first synthetic treatment of the stages through which plant species pass, this book is very useful for botanists, evolutionary biologists, conservation biologists, as well as all curious students of the biological sciences.

Ebooks: P - W

Plant Chemical Biology by Dominique Audenaert; Paul Overvoorde
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118742747
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Demonstrates how advances in plant chemical biology can translate to field applications With contributions from a team of leading researchers and pioneers in the field, this book explains how chemical biology is used as a tool to enhance our understanding of plant biology. Readers are introduced to a variety of chemical biology studies that have provided novel insights into plant physiology and plant cellular processes. Moreover, they will discover that chemical biology not only leads to a better understanding of the underlying mechanisms of plant biology, but also the development of practical applications. For example, the authors discuss small molecules that can be used to identify targets of herbicides and develop new herbicides and plant growth regulators. The book begins with a historical perspective on plant chemical biology. Next, the authors introduce the chemical biology toolbox needed to perform successful studies, with chapters covering: Sources of small molecules Identification of new chemical tools by high-throughput screening (HTS) Use of chemical biology to study plant physiology Use of chemical biology to study plant cellular processes Target identification Translation of plant chemical biology from the lab to the field Based on the latest findings and extensively referenced, the book explores available compound collections, principles of assay design, and the use of new research tools for the development of new applications. Plant Chemical Biology is recommended for students and professionals in all facets of plant biology, including molecular biology, physiology, biochemistry, agriculture, horticulture, and agronomy. All readers will discover new approaches that can lead to the development of a healthier and more plentiful global food supply.
Plant Genes, Genomes and Genetics by Erich Grotewold; Joseph Chappell; Elizabeth A. Kellogg
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118539378
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Plant Genes, Genomes and Genetics provides a comprehensive treatment of all aspects of plant gene expression. Unique in explaining the subject from a plant perspective, it highlights the importance of key processes, many first discovered in plants, that impact how plants develop and interact with the environment. This text covers topics ranging from plant genome structure and the key control points in how genes are expressed, to the mechanisms by which proteins are generated and how their activities are controlled and altered by posttranslational modifications. Written by a highly respected team of specialists in plant biology with extensive experience in teaching at undergraduate and graduate level, this textbook will be invaluable for students and instructors alike. Plant Genes, Genomes and Genetics also includes: specific examples that highlight when and how plants operate differently from other organisms special sections that provide in-depth discussions of particular issues end-of-chapter problems to help students recapitulate the main concepts rich, full-colour illustrations and diagrams clearly showing important processes in plant gene expression a companion website with PowerPoint slides, downloadable figures, and answers to the questions posed in the book Aimed at upper level undergraduates and graduate students in plant biology, this text is equally suited for advanced agronomy and crop science students inclined to understand molecular aspects of organismal phenomena. It is also an invaluable starting point for professionals entering the field of plant biology.
Plant Transcription Factors : Evolutionary, Structural and Functional Aspects by Daniel H. Gonzalez (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780128011270
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
Plant Transcription Factors: Evolutionary, Structural and Functional Aspects is the only publication that provides a comprehensive compilation of plant transcription factor families and their complex roles in plant biology. While the majority of information about transcription factors is based on mammalian systems, this publication discusses plant transcription factors, including the important aspects and unifying themes to understanding transcription factors and the important roles of particular families in specific processes. Provides an entry point for transcription factor literature Offers compilation of information into one single resource for rapid consultation on different plant transcription factor features Integrates the knowledge about different transcription factors, along with cross-referencing Provides information on the unique aspects surrounding plant transcription factors
Vegetation Ecology by Eddy van der Maarel (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781444311198
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Vegetation Ecology is a comprehensive account of plant communities and their environments. Written by leading experts in their field from four continents, this up-to-date, innovative text: covers the composition, structure, ecology, diversity, distribution and dynamics of plant communities, with an emphasis on functional adaptations to the abiotic and biotic processes governing plant communities; reviews the modern developments in vegetation ecology in a historical perspective; presents a coherent view on vegetation ecology while integrating population ecology, dispersal biology, biotic interactions, herbivory, interactions with soil organisms and ecosystem ecology; and tackles applied aspects of vegetation ecology, notably nature management, restoration ecology and global change studies. Aimed at advanced undergraduates, graduates and researchers in plant ecology, geography, forestry and nature conservation, Vegetation Ecology takes an integrated, multi-disciplinary approach and will be welcomed as an essential reference for plant ecologists the world over.
Wild Plants: Identification, Uses and Conservation by Ryan E. Davis
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781612099668
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
In this book, the authors present topical research in the study of the identification, uses and conservation of wild plants. Topics discussed include identification of plant species using traditional and molecular-based methods; extracts from wild plants that possess antioxidant capacity; wild plant seed identification through image and linear discriminant analysis; the keystone tree species of Fagus sylvatica in the glacial refuge area of southern Europe and how dominant plant species influence the patterns of ecological interactions.
Wood Structure in Plant Biology and Ecology by Pieter Baas (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9789004265608
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
At present the study of functional and ecological wood anatomy enjoys a vigorous renaissance and plays a pivotal role in plant and ecosystem biology, plant evolution, and global change research. This book contains a selection of papers presented at the successful meetings of the International Association of Wood Anatomists and the Cost-Action STReESS (Studying Tree Responses to extreme Events: a Synthesis) held in Naples in April 2013.Reprinted from IAWA Journal 34 (4), 2013.

Library	8:30am – 5:00pm
Reference	24 Hours