Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BU5171 Human Resources Management

Articles

Human Resources Databases

Databases are a great way to get the latest news and journal articles on a particular human resources topic.

ABI/INFORM Complete: Over 1,800 business publications are at your fingertips.  Do a keyword search for your topic and see what you find.  Also, be sure to check out the "full-text" and "scholarly journals".  Narrowing a search to full-text can save time and scholarly journals will get you those good peer-reviewed research articles.

Business Insights: Essentials: Business, company and industry content.  Articles will be of particular interest for human resources.  Additionally, the high ranking human resources officials are often listed under the "company profile" section when doing a company search.  Includes the following: periodical and news articles; press releases; textual and financial company information; investment reports; brand information; market share data; industry overviews.

Business Source Complete: This is a great database to locate journal articles.  Similar to ABI/INFORM Global, Business Source Complete has more journals than you can shake a stick at.  We're talking about some of the most important journals in the field, often in full-text.

Credo Reference is an online reference collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides,that cover over 80 major subject disciplines. Entries include visual aids, images, photographs and maps.

Mergent Online provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies (~35,000 public companies and ~23 million private companies) , including SEC filings (US only) and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies.

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic):   Nexis Uni provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.

ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.

Books

Search for Books

Library Instruction Video

Database Video Tutorials

Suggested Keywords

Using Library Catalog

Try using search terms such as "leadership" and "management".  Other terms such as "human resources" can be useful.  If you have a specific search topic for an assignment such as "operations management", that can be the start of a good search as well. 

  • Use OR between your search terms to broaden the search to include any of the terms. 
  • Use AND between your search terms to narrow the search to include all the terms.
  • Find full text within the databases in html or pdf format.

General Resoruces

  • Communication in personnel management
  • Compensation management
  • Conflict of generations
  • Downsizing of organizations
  • Employee assistance programs
  • Employee attitude surveys
  • Employee counseling
  • Employee empowerment
  • Employee handbooks
  • Employee morale
  • Employee motivation
  • Employee orientation
  • Employee retention
  • Employee selection
  • Employees
  • Employees - Coaching of
  • Employees, Counseling of
  • Employees - Dismissal of
  • Employees - Rating of
  • Employees - Training of
  • Employment interviewing
  • Goal setting in personnel management
  • Hours of labor
  • Human capital
  • Intercultural communication
  • Intergenerational relations
  • International business enterprises - Personnel management
  • Job analysis
  • Job satisfaction
  • Job security
  • Labor turnover
  • Layoff systems
  • Leave of absence
  • Manpower planning
  • Organizational behavior
  • Payrolls -- Management
  • Performance standards
  • Personnel management
  • Problem employees
  • Professional employees
  • Psychology, Industrial
  • Supervision of employees
  • Women supervisors
  • Work and family
  • Work environment
  • Work measurement

Benefits and Compensation

  • Compensation management
  • Employee fringe benefits
  • Employer-sponsored health insurance
  • Employer-supported education
  • Payrolls - Management
  • Pensions
  • Pensions management
  • Postemployment benefits
  • Profit-sharing
  • Wages

Workplace Diversity

  • Corporate culture
  • Cultural intelligence
  • Diversity in the workplace
  • LGBTQIA+ - Employment
  • Intercultural communication
  • Management - Cross-cultural studies
  • Minorities - Employment
  • People with disabilities -Employment
  • Transgender people -- Employment
  • Women - Employment

Employment Law

  • Discrimination in employment
  • Employee rights
  • Labor discipline
  • People with disabilities - Law and legislation
  • Problem employees
  • Sex discrimination in employment - United States
  • Sexual harassment -  Law and legislation
  • Women - Employment - Law and legislation

Web Resources and Data

Human Resources Professional Associations

These associations often offer discounted membership rates for students.  You'll also find current information and publications relevant to HR professionals:

Academic of Human Resource Development (AHRD) 

International Public Management Association for Human Resources

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)

Web Sites with Government Data and Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) -a great source for information on employment statistics, job outlook data, and more.

Data.gov -a portal to all sorts of government data.

OSHA's Statistics & Data Page -worried about workplace injuries and interested in employee safety on the job?  Take a look at OSHA's data.

O*NET -not technically a government but an excellent resource for job descriptions.

The Conference Board:  Want to learn more about consumer confidence or CEO compensation?  The Conference Board puts out reports with data that can be hard to come by.

Interlibrary Loan

Streaming

Citation Help

Zotero

Free & Online Citation Generators

Citation Style Guides

Google Scholar

Adding OW Library Resources To Google Scholar

Update your Google Scholar settings to link to SUNY Old Westbury Library collection.

Go to Google Scholar click the three horizontal bars in the corner to view the menu. 

Click the cog icon to see Settings

Click Library Links and search for SUNY Old Westbury. 

Check the 2 boxes next to "SUNY Old Westbury" links. Then click 'Save'.

 

'Available at OW' link or the 'PDF' option will now appear next to articles in your search results.  Click on it to see if we have the article in our collection.

SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
(516) 876-3150