Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Call us: (516) 876-3150 or Text us: (516) 279-5084
General Reference Databases
Countries & Cultures
Demographic and geographic data as well as current news articles on all countries. Also offers The CountryWatch.com@School, a section of resources for teachers. Grade levels: 9 and up.
For off-campus database access, you will be prompted to enter a username & password.
Enter the same username and password used to logon to campus computers.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals, and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Full text articles in general and specialized psychology. It is usually more effective to use PsyINFO, which will link to ALL our paid resources, including PsycARTICLES.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
JSTOR currently includes more than 1,700 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
Literature Resource Center
Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age
Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations