Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Library Provided Online Sources
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The New York Times (1851 until 3 years prior to present year) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. The collection will be particularly useful to researchers, because much of the original material is difficult to find, poorly indexed, and unpublished; most bibliographies of the immigrant focus on secondary research; and few oral histories have been published.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1988) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Women and Social Movements in the United States
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities from colonial times to the present.
Free Web Sources
Songs without Words
Songs Without Words is a digital exhibit of anti-lynching drawings published in African American newspapers during the 1880s and 1890s. The exhibit makes available hard-to-find images that African American editors and artists used to shape political consciousness before 1900. Our goal is to facilitate further study and debate. The images were gathered through a survey of more than twenty African American newspapers in the 1890s. Many of the images displayed here are difficult to see when published in paper format. By presenting the images in their cultural context, while allowing researchers to click on each image for closer examination of details, we hope this site will enhance understanding of our visual past. The exhibit is searchable by newspaper, editor and artist, as well as a wide range of thematic tags.
Microforms in library
More than 400 titles, filmed from the International Women's History Periodical Archive, now at Northwestern University and formerly in Berkeley at the Women's History Research Center. The collection contains journals, newspapers, newsletters of women's liberation, civic, religious, professional, and peace organizations from "all over the world," but mostly from the United States. (Library of Congress description). Microfilm.
Underground Newspaper Collection
Socialist Collections in the Tamiment Library
Radical Pamphlet Literature in the Tamiment Library
Slavery Source Materials