It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PE2650 Introduction to U.S. Politics (Prof. Ozgercin): Articles & Databases
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals, and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Library database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity and backroom maneuvering that includes an archive dating back to 1983 . It covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else. Written in plain English-prose that makes it easy to understand
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government The databases provides full-text for nearly 400 publications (periodicals and academic journals). Database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for 500 titles.
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals
Need to find scholarly articles? Watch this video (by the Peabody Library at Vanderbuilt University) that explains the differences between scholarly journals and popular magazines. (3:11 min.)