Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
General Reference Databases
ProQuest Statistical Insight
This product includes: Statistical Insight Basic Service (1999-forward) American Statistics Index Full Text (2004-forward) Index to International Statistics Full Text (2007-forward) Statistical Reference Index Full Text (2007-forward) American Statistics Index (1973-forward) Index to International Statistics (1980-forward) Statistical Reference Index (1980-forward)
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
Open Access Databases
Free Public Health Databases compiled by the Lamar Soutter Library at the UMASS Medical School:
Suggest Online Databases
When accessing library databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Enter the same username and password that you use to logon to campus computers to access these electronic resources.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals, and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Containing more than 1,957,000 records, as well as full text for more than 680 journals, this resource offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
GreenFILE covers content going back more than 35 years and contains backfiles to volume one, issue one for Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management, Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology and these backfiles are unique to GreenFILE. The database also contains bibliographic information for key non-scholarly titles such as: E -The Environmental Magazine, Natural Life, and Mother Earth News. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for certain titles and searchable sited references for more than 200 titles as well. GreenFILE is a resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment. The database includes information for individuals, such as installing solar panels and recycling; for corporation needing information on green agriculture, hybrid cars or waste management; as well as, environmental laws, regulations and studies.
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It will usually be better to use MEDLINE because it can link to all our paid resources, which PubMed cannot.
Articles from scholarly journals published by Elsevier. Includes science publications and other disciplines including business, management and accounting.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.
Discovery Search (Everything)
Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations.
Change Google Preferences on your computer to show links to Old Westbury Library resources within search results.