Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Medieval Studies - Academic Journals
The following is an alphabetic directory of scholarly journals in support of various aspects of medieval studies which are accessible through various online databases.
Academic Journals: A - J
For the International Arthurian Society- North American Branch. Dedicated to the study of all aspects of the Arthurian story from its inception in the Middle Age to its enactments in the present moment. Coverage: 03/01/2004 - 09/01/2014
Publishes original research articles on the history, languages, literature, political culture, music, arts and society of those lands once part of the Habsburg Monarchy and Poland-Lithuania from the Middle Ages to the present. Coverage: 05/01/2003 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Comitatus - a Journal of Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Publishes articles by new scholars working in any field of the Middle Ages or Renaissance. Coverage: 09/01/2007 - present
Dedicated to lay religious organizations (confraternities and religious guilds) and popular piety from the Middle Ages to the eighteenth century. Coverage: 09/01/2006 - present
Early Medieval Europe
Provides information and debate on the history of Europe from the later Roman Empire to the eleventh century. Topics include archaeology, palaeography, literature, diplomacy, art, history, linguistics, as well as more traditional historical approach. Coverage: 03/01/1998 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Essays in Medieval Studies
Each volume has had a thematic focus based on the theme or topic of the annual meeting of Illinois Medieval Assoc. Recent themes have included children and the family, medieval communities, and emotions in the Middle Ages. Coverage: 02/01/2003 - present
Publication devoted to the study of late Antiquity and the Middle Ages. Coverage: 01/01/1979 - 12/31/2012
Peer reviewed articles about history. Articles cover a wide geographical & time span - from the early middle ages to the twentieth century - & cover a variety of approaches to history, including social, political, urban, intellectual, & cultural history. Coverage: 02/01/1998 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Publishes articles about the Middle Ages incorporating different fields of study, such as history, art history, philosophy, and philology. Coverage: 01/01/2009 - present
Journal of Medieval History
Presents articles on European history, including Britain and Ireland, between the fall of Rome and the Renaissance; also includes review articles, historiographical essays and 'state of research' studies. Coverage: 09/01/2012 - present (Full Text Delay: 18 months)
Academic Journals: J - Z
Journal of Medieval Religious Cultures
Publishes essays on mystical and devotional texts, especially but not exclusively of the Western Middle Ages. Coverage: 01/01/2010 - 01/01/2012
An annual journal on all aspects of medieval and early Renaissance culture. Coverage: 01/01/2011 - present
Studies, texts, translations, reference works, and collections of articles relating to the history and culture of the Middle Ages. Coverage: 01/01/2003 - 01/01/2015
Presents archaeological evidence to further the study of the period from the 5th to the 16th century A.D. Coverage: 06/01/2003 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Centers around discussion across cultural, linguistic and disciplinary boundaries on the interactions of Jewish, Christian and Muslim cultures during the period from the fourth through to the sixteenth century C.E. Coverage: 03/01/1999 - present (Full Text Delay: 3 years)
Publishes papers that were originally offered at the annual conference of the Southeastern Medieval Association or at sessions sponsored by SEMA at the South Atlantic Modern Language Association and at the International Congress on Medieval Studies. Coverage: 04/01/1986 - present
Nottingham Mediaeval Studies.
Nottingham Medieval Studies is one of the leading interdisciplinary journals for European history and literature from Late Antiquity through to the Reformation. The journal builds on its traditional areas of strength - the literature an history of Western Europe - with articles in related fields such a archaeology, art history, linguistics, musicology and philosophy, as well as reviews of recent publications by renowned experts in the field. Coverage from 2004 until 2009.
Peer-reviewed coverage of all aspects of medieval and early modern studies. Coverage: 01/01/1983 - present
Examines fundamental philosophical problems and the history of ideas in the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Special attention is given to the profane side of philosophy and to its relationship with other areas of thought and learning from this period. Coverage: 03/01/1999 - present (Full Text Delay: 3 years)