Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Call Number Locations
Call No. (A - Z): Lower Level
CMC: Third Floor
DVDs: Circulation Desk
Print Periodicals: Main Floor/Lower Level
Reference: Main Floor
Reserves: Circulation Desk
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
This reference book is a comprehensive guide to medieval literature. While the volume is devoted primarily to the literature of medieval England, its multicultural scope also encompasses Islamic, Mongolian, Celtic, Hispanic, Italian, Russian, and Germanic works.
Middle Ages, the (Credo Reference)
Term used by Europeans to describe the period between ancient history and the Renaissance. It is not a precise term, but is often taken to cover the time from the fall of the western Roman Empire in AD 476 to the fall of Constantinople (Istanbul) and the end of the Eastern Roman Empire in 1453, or alternatively Columbus's voyage to the Americas in 1492. The term Dark Ages is sometimes used to cover the period from AD 476 to AD 1000, because it was a time when learning and the rule of law were at a low ebb in Europe. During this period Germanic and Scandinavian tribes overran Europe, bringing with them changes in language and culture.
Search the Old Westbury Library Catalog (OWLCat)
Ebook Collections at Old Westbury
ProQuest Ebook Central
120 thousand+ current fulltext ebooks, with clever tools for use
Thousands of fulltext ebooks with clever tools for use
ACLS Humanities E-Book
This electronic resource includes 4,000 full-text, cross-searchable
books in the humanities selected by scholars for their continuing
importance for research and teaching.
Digital Medieval Manuscripts at Houton Library
The Houghton Library's distinguished collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts represents a significant resource for the study of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance in Western Europe. Assembled through gifts and purchase over the past two centuries, this collection includes works in Latin, Greek, and most of the vernacular languages of Europe that are the primary sources for the study of the literature, art, history, music, philosophy, and theology of the periods.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Search the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.