Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Online Resources (A-G)
Animal Diversity Web - University of Michigan
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
BiologyBrowser brings together a unique set of opportunities for scientists, and includes:
•Links to relevant scientific digital resources
◦Primary scientific data sets, ◦Images, ◦Videos, ◦Web pages
•Current science news stories
•information resources produced by Thomson Reuters to compliment our life science products such as BIOSIS Previews & Zoological Record
◦Nomenclatural Glossary for Zoology
◦Student Guide to the Animal Kingdom
BioVeL is a virtual e-laboratory that supports research on biodiversity issues using large amounts of data from cross-disciplinary sources. BioVeL offers the possibility to use computerised "workflows" (series of data analysis steps) to process data, be that from one's own research and/or from existing sources.
Birds, Cornell Lab of Ornithology
The Cornell Lab of Ornithology is a member-supported unit of Cornell University in Ithaca, New York which studies birds and other wildlife. It is housed in the Imogene Powers Johnson Center for Birds and Biodiversity in Sapsucker Woods Sanctuary.
Catalogue of Life
The Catalogue of Life, started in June 2001 by Species 2000 and Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS), is planned to become a comprehensive catalogue of all known species of organisms on Earth. The Catalogue currently compiles data from 156 peer-reviewed taxonomic databases, that are maintained by specialist institutions around the world.
The database contains detailed information on hundreds of dinosaurs and dinosaur related topics. Beginners and experts alike will love the detail contained within.
free on-line tools to identify species, teach and study nature's wonders, report findings, build maps, process images, and contribute to and learn from a growing, interactive encyclopedia of life with 1,286,982 species pages and 642,897 maps
Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life is an unprecedented effort to gather scientific knowledge about all animal and plant life on earth
FishBase is a comprehensive database of information about fish species (specifically finfish). It is the largest and most extensively accessed online database on adult finfish on the web. (source - Wikipedia)
Online Resources (G-N)
GBIF - Global Biodiversity Information Facility
GBIF enables free and open access to biodiversity data online. We’re an international government-initiated and funded initiative focused on making biodiversity data available to all and anyone, for scientific research, conservation and sustainable development.
Global Invasive Species Database
Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities. It is managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the Species Survival Commission of IUCN (the International Union for Conservation of Nature).
Human Genome Project
The main homepage for Human Genome Project information --what the project is; its progress, history, and goals; what issues are associated.
This site aims to help you really see insects for the miniature marvels they represent and to understand how intertwined our cultures have become with these alien creatures.
ITIS - intergrated Taxonomic Information System
Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. Hosted by the USGS Core Science Analytics and Synthesis
Welcome to NatureServe Explorer, an authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
North American Mammals
This site includes detailed descriptions, images, and distribution ranges for more than 400 mammals native to the North American continent. The primary resources for the site have been based in the continental United States, but as the opportunity occurs, the site will be expanded to complete the species found in Canada and Mexico.
NOW - Database of Mammal Fossils
NOW (New and Old Worlds) fossil mammal database contains information mainly about Eurasian Miocene to Pleistocene land mammal taxa and localities. The emphasis of the database has been on the European Miocene and Pliocene but African localities are currently being added and updated, and North American localities will also be visible to the public in 2014
GeneCards; The Human Gene Database
GeneCards is a searchable, integrative database that provides comprehensive, user-friendly information on all annotated and predicted human genes. It automatically integrates gene-centric data from ~125 web sources, including genomic, transcriptomic, proteomic, genetic, clinical and functional information.
Online Resources (P-Z)
Paleobiology Database (Fossilworks)
The Paleobiology Database seeks to provide researchers and the public with information about the entire fossil record.
PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.
AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
The Reptile Database
The provides basic information about all living reptile species, such as turtles, snakes, lizards, and crocodiles, as well as tuataras and amphisbaenians, but does not include dinosaurs.
SORA - Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
SORA is an open access electronic journal archive. This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
Specimen Collection at Natural History Museum
Explore and download the Natural History Museum’s research and collections data. Over 2,800,000 of the Museum's 80 million specimens are now available online.
Search for museum specimens and observations by taxonomy, identifications, specimen attributes, and usage history. Provides access to over 1,990,000 records.
Tree of Life Web Project
Tree of Life Web Project is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).
Welcome to the database of Vertebrates:
fossil Fishes, Amphibians, Reptiles, Birds
(fosFARbase) localities and taxa from the Triassic to the Neogene
WoRMS - World Reguister of Marine Species
World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) aims to provide an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy.