Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Discovery Search (Everything)
Recommended Poetry Journals
The American Poetry Review
Contemporary poetry, fiction, social commentary, opinion, translations and reviews for a general audience.
Arc Poetry Magazine
Focuses on Anglo-Canadian poetry and poetry-related subjects.
Journal of Modern Literature
Scholarly studies of literature in the twentieth century with emphasis on the Modernist period; discussion of individual writers.
Parnassus: Poetry in Review
Poetry, fiction criticism and art by known and unknown writers and artists published for a general audience.
Poetry: A Magazine of Verse
Poetry, commentary news notes and lists of recently published books published by the Modern Poetry Association.
Poets & Writers
Focuses on writers, publishing, and writing while addressing literature and writing; poetry and poetics; arts and humanities.
Essays, criticism and reviews, and thematic issues, on aspects of Victorian poetry.
Selected Library Databases
When accessing a database from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Enter the same username and password that you use to logon to campus computers.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals, and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Literature Resource Center
Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age
Full text current periodicals; especially strong in the humanities
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations