Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Llibrary Databases with Images
ARTstor ia a digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. ARTstor contains more than 1,000,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. Click on the "Search and Browse for Images" link on the ARTstor website to enter the Digital Library.
Finding Images Online
Digital Images from Wellesley College
A collection of image galleries and sites that can be used freely for non-profit educational purposes. Some of the websites included do have certain restrictions and user requests, such as preferred citing or number of images used.
Google Art project
Explore collections from around the world with thousands of artworks photographed in extremely high resolution.
National Gallery of Art
A searchable electronic collection of the works at The National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. The contents of this site, including all images and text, are for personal, educational, non-commercial use only.
Web Gallery of Art
Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 31.800 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.
WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. The images can be located using many search techniques on the left hand toolbar, from QuickSearch to Advanced and ADA Searches.
Guide to Finding Images Online
85 Free Stock Photo Resources
This site provides a list of 85 Free Stock Photo Resources and includes information on how each can be best used.
Free Digital Media for Educational Use
This site provides a comprehensive directory of reliable source of free digital media that can be used for educational purposes, including images, audio and video.