Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations.
Google Preferences on your computer to show links to Old Westbury Library resources within search results.
Off-Campus Database Access
When accessing a database from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Enter the same username and password that you use to logon to campus computers.
Call Computing Services for more information about computing accounts at (516)876-3098.
Selected Library Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Provides many full-text articles, abstracts, and citations from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers. Use this database to search for information in nearly every area of academic study.
Alternative Press Index
The Alternative Press Index is a biannual* subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical coverage of the world, except North America, from 1450 to the present.
JStor is an archive of full page images of complete sets of many scholarly journals in the humanitities, social sciences and sciences.
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)
This database provides includes periodical and academic journal articles pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Provides full-text scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text in the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and more.
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals
Need to find
scholarly articles? Watch this video (by the Peabody Library at Vanderbuilt University) that explains the differences between scholarly journals and popular magazines. (3:11 min.)
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658