Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
How to Evaluate Websites
Internet Detective: Wise Up to the Web
Place, E., Kendall, M., Hiom, D., Booth, H., Ayres, P., Manuel, A., Smith, P. (2006) "Internet Detective: Wise up to the Web", 3rd edition, Intute Virtual Training Suite, [online]. Available from: http://www.vts.intute.ac.uk/detective/
Biblioteca Nacional de Espana: Colección Hispanoamérica Digital
Digitized documents and books on the independence of Latin American countries and history of Latin America.
Castro Speech Database (LANIC)
This database includes speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are translated in English.
Che Guevara Internet Archive
Provides a library of partial books and documents, biographical information, images and speeches. Marxists Internet Archive.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Fidel Castro Internet Archive
Provides selected speeches of Fidel Castro. Marxists Internet Archive
H-LATAM Discussion Network
H-LatAm, an international forum for the scholarly discussion of Latin American History. It is a member of the H-Net Humanities & Social Sciences Online initiative and affiliated with the Conference On Latin American History (CLAH).
Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress
The Hispanic Reading Room serves as the primary access point for research relating to those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
Latin American and Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet
This guide, produced by Jesus Alonso-Regalado at SUNY-Albany, "brings together a selection of web resources that provide access to freely available videos, representing the great variety and diversity of Latin American and Spanish video production on the Internet."
Latin American Network Information Center
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
Latin American Pamphlet Collection
Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. These pamphlets are valuable primary resources for students and researchers working on Latin American history. They document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminate many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life. Many pamphlets are devoted to boundary disputes, territorial expansion, the description of unexplored territories and the relationship between Church and State.
National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Indexed documents including collections on Chile, Colombia, Cuba, El Salvador, Peru, Guatemala and Nicaragua.
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP)
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) is a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. It mobilizes collaborative activities among individuals and organizations on a global scale but focuses on relationships within the academic library community.
University of Miami - Cuban Heritage collection
Links to Cuban Heritage Collection digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami.