Contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks. Provides full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
Produced by the Modern Language Association, sources focus on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism and dramatic arts. Provides citations and some full text for journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, dissertations, etc. from 1926 to present.
This database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays to better understand controversial issues and develop critical thinking skills. Provides resources that present multiple sides of an issue, including essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Off-Campus Database Access
When accessing a database from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Enter the same username and password that you use to logon to campus computers.
Call Computing Services for more information about computing accounts at (516)876-3098.
Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations.
Change Google Preferences on your computer to show links to Old Westbury Library resources within search results.