Library: PY4240 Applied Developmental Psychology (Prof. Jung): Articles & Databases

Types of Scholarly Articles

Virginia Commonwealth Univ. Libraries (3:36 min)

Scholarly vs Popular

Vanderbilt University. Created by Eli Moody, 2007. (3:12 min)

How to Read A Scholarly Research Article

"How to Read a Scholarly Research Article" by Western Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. (2:35 min)

Databases

PsycINFO
- Why search here? Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
- What's included? Includes all of PsycArticles plus more in Psychology and related fields.
PsycARTICLES
- Why search here? It is usually more effective to use PsycINFO, which will link to ALL Psyc resources, including PsycARTICLES.
- What's included? Full text articles in general and specialized psychology and behavioral science.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Why search here? Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- What's included? Full text psychology coverage of many relevant journals, books, magazines and health reports. Particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
PsycBOOKS
- Why search here? An extensive collection of full-text eBooks covering Applied, Developmental and Educational psychology, Personality, Psychological and physical disorders and Psychometrics and statistics.
- What's included? Coverage includes the most current scholarly and professional titles published by APA, as well as historical and classic works from the behavioral and social sciences.
PsycEXTRA
- Why search here? Psychology-research reports, grey literature, grant information, conference papers and abstracts, videos, etc. published by the APA.
- What's included? Contains publications such as technical and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, videos, press releases, and consumer brochures.

Academic Search Complete
- Why search here? Provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- What's included? Full text, scholarly articles, reports, and conference proceedings on all subjects.
ProQuest Central
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? This is the largest multidisciplinary database available.
- What's included? All major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
JStor
- Why search here? A digital library for the intellectually curious
- What's included? Access to journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
- What's included? Full-text to many articles. OW only subscribes to some titles in this collection.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- Why search here? Covers many topics in the social sciences such as anthropology, economics, ethics, gender studies, psychology and political science.
- What's included? Full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences from 1972-present.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
- Why search here? Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska.
- What's included? Full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing.)
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
- Why search here? Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
- What's included? Access to the world's leading medical, life sciences, healthcare and biomedical journals published since 1950.
PubMed Central
- Why search here? A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). It is better to use MEDLINE because it can link to all our paid resources, which PubMed cannot.
- What's included? Index to scholarly and research biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Why search here? A comprehensive database of literature on health, biomedicine, nursing and allied health fields.
- What's included? Full text for hundreds of journals and books as well as indexing for more than 5,000 journals and the full text of more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
ERIC [Ebsco]
- Why search here? Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.
- What's included? Some full text to journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
Education Source
- Why search here? Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- What's included? Extensive full-text education content from several education databases and journals not previously available in any database.
Sociological Abstracts
- Why search here? International literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences
- What's included? Index to articles and book reviews from thousands of journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers from 1952-present.

Off-Campus Access

When accessing a database from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a username and password. Enter the same username and password that you use to logon to campus computers.

Call Computing Services for more information about computing accounts at (516)876-3098.

How to Use the APA Thesaurus in PsycINFO

(3:02 min)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations.

How can I connect Google Scholar to the library's resources?

1. Go to Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com) and click the three horizontal bars in the top left corner.

2. Click "Settings".

3. Click "Library links" and search for SUNY Old Westbury.

4. Check the boxes next to "SUNY Old Westbury" and click "Save."

Directory of Open Access Journals

Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

Directory of Open Access Journals
- Why search here? Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many subjects.
- What's included? More than 800 open access journals are in the directory.