Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Primo Discovery Search (Everything)
Microbiology Online Resources
MICROBIOLOGY (Credo Reference)
Click here to access the collected scholarly and encyclopedic resources pertaining to microbiology provided by the database, Credo Reference.
General Reference Databases
Google Scholar searches the Internet for scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, abstracts, books, and theses. It is helpful for tracking down or verifying partial citations
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages. Contains over 7000 journals, 3500 journals searchable at the article level, & over 700,000 articles.
Microbiology Databases (Open Access)
An electronic store of information on the algae of the world and includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater forms.
BioCyc Database Collection
BioCyc is a collection of 7600 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for understanding their data.
California Academy of Sciences Diatom Collection
An ongoing project to present taxonomic information, images, records of collections, and references pertaining to diatoms.
Comparative RNA Web Site
Disseminating information about RNA structure and evolution that has been determined using comparative sequence analysis.
An online informatics resource for dictyostelium.
Eukaryotic Pathogen Database Resources. An integrated database covering the eukaryotic pathogens.
European Bioinformatics Institute's Bioinformatics services
The European Bioinformatics Institute Bioinformatics services area provides a comprehensive range of freely available and up-to-date databases for the field of bioinformatics.
EXPASY (expert protein analysis system)
ExPASy of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) is an extensible and integrative portal accessing many scientific resources, databases and software tools in different areas of life sciences.
An integrated genomic and functional genomic database for the kingdom Fungi.
Containing data on HIV genetic sequences, immunological epitopes, drug resistance-associated mutations, and vaccine trials. The website also gives access to a large number of tools that can be used to analyze these data.
International ImMunoGeneTics information system (IMGT)
IMGT is a high-quality integrated information system specialising in immunoglobulins (IG), T cell receptors (TR), major histocompatibility complex (MHC) and related proteins of the immune system of human and other vertebrate species.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
NCBI has been charged with creating automated systems for storing and analyzing knowledge about molecular biology, biochemistry, and genetics; facilitating the use of such databases and software by the research and medical community; coordinating efforts to gather biotechnology information both nationally and internationally; and performing research into advanced methods of computer-based information processing for analyzing the structure and function of biologically important molecules.
PATRIC - Pathosystems Resource Integration Center
An information system designed to support the biomedical research community’s work on bacterial infectious diseases via integration of vital pathogen information with rich data and analysis tools.
Poxvirus Bioinformatics Resource Center
Established to provide resources to the scientific community for basic research and to facilitate the development of novel antiviral therapies and vaccines against human orthopoxvirus infections as well as approaches for environmental detection of virions and the rapid diagnosis of disease.
An online database containing information about radiolarians.
Ribosomal Database Project (RDP)
RDP provides ribosome related data services to the scientific community, including online data analysis, rRNA derived phylogenetic trees, and aligned and annotated rRNA sequences.
Saccharomyces Genome Database
A community resource for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae. This project provides encyclopedic information about the yeast genome and its genes, proteins, and other encoded features.
World Data Centre for Microorganisms
WFCC-MIRCEN World Data Centre for Microorganisms (WDCM) provides a comprehensive directory of culture collections, databases on microbes and cell lines, and the gateway to biodiversity, molecular biology and genome projects.
Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals, and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
Containing more than 1,957,000 records, as well as full text for more than 680 journals, this resource offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It will usually be better to use MEDLINE because it can link to all our paid resources, which PubMed cannot.
Articles from scholarly journals published by Elsevier. Includes science publications and other disciplines including business, management and accounting.
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the American Chemical Society Chemical Abstracts Service databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!
In order to use SciFinder you must create an account using the Registration URL. You must be on campus to register and you must provide your oldwestbury email address in the registration process.
ChemDraw is available here.
SciFinder registration URL
In order to access the SciFinder database, please click here first to create your own account.