Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
Search For Books
Search the SUNY Old Westbury Library Catalog
Search the online catalog of all SUNY libraries
Open Access Art Ebooks
Free Art Ebooks
The Color of Art: Artist Reference Books
Paint Making, Pigments and Artist Techniques Reference Books.
SUNY OWL Online Databases
ARTstor ia a digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. ARTstor contains more than 1,000,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. Click on the "Search and Browse for Images" link on the ARTstor website to enter the Digital Library.
Credo Reference: Arts & Leisure
Browse topic pages on artists, art movements, styles, genres, etc.
ebrary - Fine Arts Collection
Search ebrary's fine arts collection of full text ebooks.
Online Books Page - Fine Arts
Listing of free books on the Internet related to fine arts (Browsing Library of Congress Call Numbers : "N1 .A18" to "N611 .M43").
Oxford Reference Online - Art & Architecture
Oxford Reference provides more than 60,000 concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across Art and Architecture. Our coverage comprises authoritative, highly accessible information on artists, architects, works, and buildings as well as the terminology, concepts, movements, techniques, and organizations relating to all periods within these fields.
Project MUSE - Art and Architecture
Search the Project MUSE database for books and journals related specifically to Art and Architecture.
Suggested Art Websites
AHDB - Art & History Database
The Art & History Database(AHDB) is an ongoing collation of information on art and history resources on the web. Phase 1 will focus on art history sites. This will include history sites which feature discussion of art or related news.
The Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives: find where
the works of over 8000 different fine artists can be viewed online.
Carol Gerten's Visual Art Museum
Broad gallery that includes biographies and images for hundreds of well-known American, French, Spanish, Dutch, German and Japanese artists.
Contemporary Artist Index
Developed by the Gund Library at the Cleveland Institute of Art, indexes over 15,000 artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in group exhibition catalogs added to the library since 1991, as well as the video periodical Art Today and View, a periodical specializing in artist interviews.
Dictionary of Art Historians
A biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history. A free, copyrighted scholarly database for the use of researchers, students and the public.
The Art Story: Modern Art Movements, Artists, Ideas, & Topics
The Art Story website mission is to make modern art more accessible and digestible to the general public by providing information that is easy-to-understand, professionally designed, and logically presented. Modern art requires much from the viewer, but a large time commitment should not be a prerequisite.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 28.400 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available. Guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and other services are provided.
Acquisitions, Instruction, & Reference
Online Image Search
Google Image Search
Search the largest database of images on the web.
National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.