- Academic Search Complete
Covering most areas of academic study, this scholarly, multi-disciplinary database contains more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals, and offers access to monographs, reports, conference proceedings and much more.
- America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Compiled under the auspices of the Modern Humanities Research Association by an international team of editors, contributors, and academic advisers, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) is an indispensable reference work for English studies. The electronic database contains more than 940,000 records, from 1892 through 2009. ABELL is widely regarded as one of the most important bibliographical sources for English studies. It is the only electronic literary index that covers the critical years of literary output from 1892 through 1962, in addition to offering current records.
ARTstor ia a digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. ARTstor contains more than 1,000,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. Click on the "Search and Browse for Images" link on the ARTstor website to enter the Digital Library.
- Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
- Country Watch
Demographic and geographic data as well as current news articles on all countries. Also offers The CountryWatch.com@School, a section of resources for teachers. Grade levels: 9 and up.
- Credo Reference
Over 500 reliable reference books
- Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- Directory of Open Access repositories
A quality-controlled list of academic repositories
- Encyclopedia Britannica
A basic but reliable starting place.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
- Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865
Searchable, full-text articles from Harper's Weekly (Civil War Era, 1857-1865)
- Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world, except North America, from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index retrospective
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective™: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews. THE HUMANITIES PORTION IS INCLUDED IN HUMANITIES SOURCE. When searching humanities subjects use Humanities Source
- Humanities Source
Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before. More generally, by digitizing content to high standards and supporting its long-term preservation, we also aim to help libraries and publishers of scholarly content transition their collections and publishing activities from print to digital operations. Our aim is to expand access to scholarly content around the world and to preserve it for future generations. We provide access to some or all of the content free-of-charge when we believe we can do so and still meet our long-term obligations. JSTOR currently includes more than 1,700 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education.
- LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
- Literature Resource Center
Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age
- Media Education Foundation / Kanopy Streaming
The Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.
- MLA Bibliography (ProQuest)
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. The collection will be particularly useful to researchers, because much of the original material is difficult to find, poorly indexed, and unpublished; most bibliographies of the immigrant focus on secondary research; and few oral histories have been published.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture
This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.
Contains digital resources from open archive collections. Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.
- Opposing viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards.
- Oxford Reference Online
Language and subject reference works plus selected multi-volume encyclopedias
- Points of View Reference Center
This full-text database is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database contains 255 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument) and Critical Thinking Guide. Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 1,143 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
- Project MUSE
Full text current periodicals; especially strong in the humanities
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
Containing nearly 300 full-text journals, this database covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- SUNY Digital Repository
Research materials from contributing SUNY institutions made available in a digitized format. Items can include theses, books, computer programs, web pages, multimedia publications, and much more.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities from colonial times to the present.
- World Data Analyst
Combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.