This is the "Children's & Young Adult Literature" page of the "Children's & Young Adult Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's & Young Adult Literature   Tags: book awards, children's literature, education  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.oldwestbury.edu/content.php?pid=199034 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Children's & Young Adult Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured New Books

Cover Art
All My Stripes - Shaina Rudolph; Danielle Royer; Jennifer Zivoin (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.1.R83 All 2015 E
ISBN: 9781433819162
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Drum Dream Girl - Margarita Engle; Rafael López (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.E7158 Dru 2015 P
ISBN: 9780544102293
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Echo - Pam Munoz Ryan
Call Number: CMC PZ7.R9553 Ec 2015 I-JH
ISBN: 9780439874021
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Enchanted Air - Margarita Engle; Edel Rodriguez (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PS3555.N4254 Z46 2015 I-JH
ISBN: 9781481435222
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Finding Winnie - Lindsay Mattick; Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.1.M38 Fin 2015 E
ISBN: 9780316324908
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Funny Bones - Duncan Tonatiuh
Call Number: CMC NE546.P6 T65 2015 P
ISBN: 9781419716478
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Last Stop on Market Street - Matt De la Peña; Christian Robinson (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.P3725 Las 2015 E
ISBN: 9780399257742
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Little Roja Riding Hood - Susan Middleton Elya; Susan Guevara (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ8.3.E514 Lit 2014 E
ISBN: 9780399247675
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Mama's Nightingale - Edwidge Danticat; Leslie Staub (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.D2385 Mam 2015 P-I
ISBN: 9780525428091
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Mango, Abuela, and Me - Meg Medina; Angela Dominguez (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.M512765 Man 2015 P
ISBN: 9780763669003
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
March: Book One - John Lewis; Andrew Aydin; Nate Powell (Artist)
Call Number: CMC E840.8.L43 A3 2013 I-HS
ISBN: 9781603093002
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Mikis and the Donkey - Bibi Dumon Tak; Philip Hopman (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.D893635 Mik 2014 P-I
ISBN: 9780802854308
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
My Tata's Remedies - Los Remedios de Mi Tata - Roni Capin Rivera-Ashford; Antonio Castro L. (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ73 .R52463 2015 P
ISBN: 9781935955917
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Sir Cumference and the Roundabout Battle - Cindy Neuschwander; Wayne Geehan (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC QA113 .N48 2015 P-I
ISBN: 9781570917653
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Supertruck - Stephen Savage (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.S2615 Sup 2015 E
ISBN: 9781596438217
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
The Boys Who Challenged Hitler - Phillip Hoose
Call Number: CMC D802.D4 H645 2015 JH-HS
ISBN: 9780374300227
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
The Wonderful Fluffy Little Squishy - Beatrice Alemagna (Created by)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.A3744 Wo 2015 P
ISBN: 9781592701803
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Trombone Shorty - Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews; Bryan Collier (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC ML3930.A53 A3 2015 P-I
ISBN: 9781419714658
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Voice of Freedom - Carole Boston Weatherford; Ekua Holmes (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC E185.97.H35 W43 2015 I-JH
ISBN: 9780763665319
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Waiting - Kevin Henkes (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC PZ7.H389 Wai 2015 E
ISBN: 9780062368447
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
X A Novel - Ilyasah Shabazz; Kekla Magoon
Call Number: CMC PZ7.1.S47 Xan 2015 JH-HS
ISBN: 9780763669676
Publication Date: 2015

  


 

Finding Children's & Young Adult Literature in the Library

The Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) , located on the upper level of the SUNY Old Westbury Library, offers a large collection of children's and young adult literature books. These books are listed in OWLCat, the Library's online catalog. To search for CMC books in OWLCat, click on the "Advanced Search" tab and select "Curriculum Materials Center - Entire Collection" from the "More Collections" drop down box. Then enter your search words and click on "Go."  Children and young adult books can by borrowed for two weeks.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

LCD log

  • Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
    Provides an extensive array of information about children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, and other children-focused media. Contains more than 130,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults, and an average of more than 1500 new reviews are added to the database monthly. Reading levels are assigned to each evaluated book.
 

Reference & Guide Books

Cover Art
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children’s Picture Books - Carolyn W. Lima; John A. Lima
Call Number: CMC REF Z1037 .L715 2006
ISBN: 1591582326
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Across Cultures: A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children - Kathy East; Rebecca L. Thomas
Call Number: CMC REF Z1037 .E19 2007
ISBN: 9781591583363
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6 - Catherine Barr; John T. Gillespie
Call Number: CMC REF Z1037 .G48 2006
ISBN: 1591580854
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Children's Book Award Handbook - Diana F. Marks; Susanne Frey (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC REF Z1037 .A2 M37 2006
ISBN: 9781591583042
Publication Date: 2006


Cover Art
Historical Fiction for Young Readers (Grades 4-8) - John T. Gillespie
Call Number: CMC REF Z1037 .G497 2008
ISBN: 9781591586210
Publication Date: 2008


Cover Art
Teaching Science Through Trade Books - Christine Anne Royce
ISBN: 9781936959860
Publication Date: 2012-01-01


Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature - Jack Zipes (Editor)
Call Number: CMC REF PN1008.5 .O94 2006
ISBN: 9780195146561
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Valerie and Walter's Best Books for Children - Walter M. Mayes; Valerie Lewis
Call Number: CMC REF Z1037 .L58 2004
ISBN: 9780060524678
Publication Date: 2004

  


Books About African Americans

Books About Disabilities

LGBTQ Books

  • LGBTQ Books for Children & Young Adults
    This guide lists LGBTQ children and young adult books that are available in the Library's Curriculum Materials Center. Many of the books are winners of the Stonewall Book Awards.

Authors & Illustrators Websites

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip