Includes access to Amazing Animals of the World*, America the Beautiful*,Encyclopedia Americana,Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Lands and Peoples*,The New Book of Knowledge, The New Book of Popular Science*, and La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre* as well as Roget's II: The New Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition.
Amazing Animals* is for elementary school students and includes facts and photos for over 1,200 animals.
America the Beautiful* is for elementary and middle school students and includes articles on US cities, states and Presidents.
Encyclopedia Americana articles include links to further readings, a bibliography, selected full text articles, web page links, and links to related articles.
The Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia includes encyclopedia articles, news, timelines, quizzes and games, and research starters. It also includes an atlas and dictionary. Articles can be grouped by lexile level and are aligned to standards.
Lands and Peoples* is for middle and high school students and includes articles on countries, cultures and current events. It also includes an atlas and almanacs.
The New Book of Knowledge is for middle grade students and includes literary selections, a timeline, projects and experiments, news, homework help and more.
The New Book of Popular Science* is for middle and high school students and includes articles in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre* is a Spanish language encyclopedia written from a Latin American perspective.
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the American Chemical Society Chemical Abstracts Service databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! In order to use SciFinder you must get a special URL from the library -(firstname.lastname@example.org). The URL that you are given must be used on campus to register and you must provide your oldwestbury email address in the registration process. You will get a username and password which will let you use SciFinder.
This HeinOnline collection brings together, all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.