The American Accounting Association: The American Accounting Association promotes excellence in accounting education, research and practice. The association holds an annual conference. The website includes information for job seekers.
American Institute of CPAs: The AICPA administers the CPA exam and provides information about preparing for the exam. Additionally, resources such as current authoritative accounting standards and research papers are available. Extensive information for job seekers is also available.
Association of Government Accountants: The AGA supports the careers and professional development of government finance professionals working in federal, state and local governments as well as the private sector and academia. Website includes research and standards, especially on topics such as accountability.
National Association of Black Accountants, Inc.: This association is for African-American professionals in the fields of accounting and finance. NABA provides educational and networking opportunities as well as advocacy.
Association of Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting (ALPFA): ALPFA is for Hispanic-American professionals in the fields of accounting and finance. ALPFA provides educational and networking opportunities as well as advocacy.
National Society of Accountants: NSA and its affiliates represent more than 30,000 practitioners who provide accounting, tax, auditing, financial and estate planning, and management services. Most members are sole practitioners or partners in small- to medium-size accounting firms.
New York State Society of CPAs: Information about working as a CPA in New York State. Extensive information about standards and continuing professional education. Includes a "Future CPAs" section for students.
Accounting Coach A free online accounting course offering explanations, tips, tutorials and expert guidance on all aspects of accountancy. Also has an accounting related dictionary, exams, a forum and games.
AccountingWEB With free registration, AccountingWEB provides news, information, tips, tools, resources and insight related to the accounting profession. RSS feed available.
CPANet Collection of links relating to accounting and finance issues. Categories include professional resources, financial reporting, international and government accounting, and accounting software.
Rutgers Accounting Web Rutgers Accounting Research Center aims to further research and creative teaching methods in accounting and information systems. Emphasis on effective use of technology.