Skip to main content
site header image

Accounting

Databases

ABI/Inform Complete (Proquest): Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global as well as trade news
 
Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection (Proquest)Articles from nearly 300 accounting and tax publications and official releases from the AICPA and FASB, plus tax-related articles from general business publications.
 
American Accounting AssociationSome full text archival access of periodicals published by this association.
 
CCH IntelliConnect (Tax Research Network) : Leading federal, state, and international accounting content including codes and cases. Internet Explorer 8 users should go into Tools and turn on compatibility mode for this site.  First-time users of CCH, please click here and then select "Create User ID" to get started.
 
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
 
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale): Business, company and industry content covering the following: periodical and news articles; press releases; textual and financial company information; investment reports; brand information; market share data; industry overviews.
 
Business Source Complete (EbscoHost) This database provides the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. PDF backfiles for the most important scholarly business journals, trade publications and top management journals date back as far as 1886. In addition, this resource provides full-text non-journal content, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
 
MergentOnlineA great source for financial data from publically traded companies; This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions..

Accounting Journals

Accounting Horizons: Publication of the American Accounting Association.

Accounting, Organizations and Society: Concerned with the relationship between accounting and human behaviour, organizational structures and processes, and the changing social and political environment of the enterprise.

Accounting Review: A scholarly journal publishing the results of original research in accounting.

International Journal of Accounting: Focuses on accounting theory and practice from an international perspective.

Journal of Accountancy: Published monthly by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Focuses on news and developments related to accounting.

Journal of Accounting and Economics: Encourages the application of economic theory to the explanation of accounting phenomena.

Journal of Accounting Research: Publishes original research using analytical, empirical, experimental, and field study methods in all areas of accounting research.

Journal of Business Finance & Accounting: Covers analysis relating to financial reporting, asset pricing, financial markets and institutions, market microstructure, corporate finance, corporate governance, and the economics of internal organization and management control.

Review of Accounting Studies: Publishes academic research in accounting including theoretical, empirical, and experimental work.

Trade Publications

  • Accounting Today - Covers news from a variety of accounting firms.  From accounting regulations to management issues, this publication is a good place to start.
  • CPA Journal - This is a monthly journal published by the New York Society of CPAs.
  • CPA Letter - A monthly newsletter publiished by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, this resource is focuses on timely issues facing accountants.
  • Practical Accountant - A pragmatic publication with a focus on public accounting.
  • Practicing CPA - Focuses on the best accounting practices for CPAs.
SUNY Old Westbury Library, Old Westbury, NY 11658
(516) 876-3150